Wales parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

Wales parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

Source=h:/!Genuki/RecordTranscriptions/WRY/WRY_YPR.txt

The place:

A parish town, in the upper division of Strafforth and Tickhill, Liberty of St. Peter; 7 miles from Worksop (Notts), 7½ from Rotherham, 9 from Sheffield, 55 from York. Population 277. The Church, a peculiar of the Chancellorship of York, is a perpetual curacy, dedicated to St. John, in the deanery of Doncaster.

Deposited Registers (Sheffield Archives)

• Baptisms: 1579-1874
• Marriages: 1578-1684, 1687-1811, 1815-1835, 1837-1920
• Burials: 1578-1918

Bishop's Transcripts:

• 1600-1602, 1604-1606, 1631-1633, 1635, 1637, 1639, 1664, 1666-1668,1673-1675, 1681, 1683, 1687-1689, 1692, 1696-1698, 1700-1702, 1704, 1708-1723, 1725-1736, 1738-1828, 1830-1834, 1867-1870

IGI Coverage:

• C 1720-1834, 1867-1870;
• M 1720-1812, 1815-1832

Transcripts and Indexes:

1. C 1579-1874, 2 vols; Typed transcript, no index; G. Strafford; Sheffield Archives
2. M 1578-1684, 1687-1811, 1815-1920, 4 vols; Typed transcript, no index; G. Strafford; Sheffield Archives
3. B 1578-1918, 2 vols; Typed transcript, no index; G. Strafford; Sheffield Archives

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.

---