Wickersley parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

Wickersley parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

Source=h:/!Genuki/RecordTranscriptions/WRY/WRY_YPR.txt

The place:

A parish town, in the upper division of Strafforth and Tickhill, Liberty of Tickhill; 4 miles from Rotherham, 8 from Tickhill, 9 from Sheffield, 47 from York. Population 432. The Church is a rectory, dedicated to St. Alban, in the deanery of Doncaster.

Deposited Registers ()

• Baptisms: Registers with incumbent. (From 1567)
• Marriages: Registers with incumbent. (From 1570)
• Burials: Registers with incumbent. (From 1567)
• Note: Sheffield Archives has photocopies: C 1567-1782; M 1570-1753; B 1567-1782

Bishop's Transcripts:

• 1600, 1601, 1604, 1609, 1610, 1624-1628, 1630, 1632-1639, 1661-1663,1665-1669, 1671-1673, 1675, 1677, 1678, 1682-1685, 1688, 1689, 1692-1701, 1703-1714, 1716, 1718-1791, 1793-1831, 1841-1843

IGI Coverage:

• C 1718-1843;
• M 1718-1843

Transcripts and Indexes:

1. CMB 1567-1841; Typed transcript, no index; Borthwick Institute of Historical Research, Yorkshire Archaeological Society

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.

---