Open a form to report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for ANTRIM

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.


"COUNTY ANTRIM, a maritime county in the province of Ulster, bounded on the E. by the Irish Channel, on the N. by the Northern Ocean, on the S. by Lough Neagh and the counties of Armagh and Down, and on the W. by the counties of Derry and Tyrone. It has a coast line of 90 miles. It extends in length, N. and S., 56 miles, and its greatest breadth is 25 miles. It comprises an area of above 760,000 acres. It is situated between 54° 28' and 55° 13' north latitude; and between 5° 40' and 6° 37' west longitude. It is divided for civil purposes into fourteen baronies, which are the following-Upper Antrim, Lower Antrim, Upper Belfast, Lower Belfast, Upper Massereene, Lower Massereene, Upper Glenarm, Lower Glenarm Upper Toome Lower Toome, Kilconway, Upper Dunluce Lower Dunluce, and Carey. It contains 74 parishes, of which twelve are market towns and three are boroughs. The latter are Belfast, recently made the county town; Carrickfergus, which was formerly the county town; and Lisburn. Before the union, Antrim returned ten representatives to parliament; it now returns six, two for the county, two for Belfast, one for Carrickfergus, and one for Lisburn. The government of the county is entrusted to a lieutenant and custos, a high sheriff, twenty-two deputy lieutenants, and above a hundred magistrates. In the earliest times, this part of Ireland was the seat of a Celtic tribe called the Darini. " (There is more of this description).

[Description(s) from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868)]
Transcribed by Colin Hinson ©2018