Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Armagh

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Armagh

"ARMAGH (County of), an inland county, in the province of ULSTER, bounded on the north by Lough Neagh, on the east by the county of Down, on the south-east by that of Louth, on the south-west by Monaghan, and on the west and north-west by Tyrone: it is situated between 54" 3' and 54" 31' (N. Lat.), and between 6" 14' and 6" 45' (W. Lon.); and comprises, according to the Ordnance survey, 328,076 statute acres, of which 267, 317 acres are tillable, 17,941 are covered with water, and the remainder is mountain and bog. The population, in 1821, was 197,427; and, in 1831, 220,134. The county is partly in the diocese of Dromore, but chiefly in that of Armagh. For civil purposes it is now divided into the baronies of Armagh, Turaney, O'Neilland East, O'Neilland West, Upper Fews, Lower Fews, Upper Orior, and Lower Orior. It contains the city and borough of Armagh; part of the borough, sea-port, and market-town of Newry; the market and post-towns of Lurgan, Portadown, Tanderagee, Market-hill, and Newtown-Hamilton; the disfranchised borough of Charlemont; the post-towns of Richhill, Keady, Blackwatertown, Loughgall, Tynan, Forkhill, and Flurry-Bridge; and the market-towns of Middleton and Crossmeglan, which, with Killylea, have each a penny post." [From the County Armagh segment of Samuel Lewis' Topographical Dictionary of Ireland (1837)]

[From the County Armagh segment of Samuel Lewis' Topographical Dictionary of Ireland (1837)]

Archives and Libraries

  • Abbreviations used in these Armagh pages:
ACM - Armagh County Museum
AIGS - Australian Institute of Genealogical Studies -- County Armagh holdings
APL - Armagh Public Library
BOD - Bodleian Library, Oxford University, England
BL - British Library, London, England
CMS
-
Craigavon Museum Services
GO - Office of the Chief Herald of Ireland, National Library of Ireland, Dublin
ILS - Irish & Local Studies Library, 39c Abbey Street, Armagh BT61 7EB
LDS - Church of Jesus Christ Latter Day Saints, Salt Lake City, Utah, U.S.A.
LIN - Linen Hall Library, Belfast
NAI - National Archives of Ireland, Dublin
NIPL - Northern Ireland Public Libraries
NIFHS - North of Ireland Family History Society - Research Centre
NLI - National Library of Ireland, Dublin
PRO
-
The National Archives at Kew, England
PRONI - Public Record Office of Northern Ireland, Belfast
QUB - Queen's University Library, Belfast
RAS - RASCAL: Research & Special Collections Available Locally, Belfast
RCBL - Representative Church Body Library, Dublin
RUM - Royal Ulster Rifles Museum
UFM - Ulster Folk & Transport Museum, Omagh
UUL - University of Ulster - Library

Bibliography

Biography

Business and Commerce Records

Cemeteries

  • Find a Grave (founded by Jim Tipton) - click on "Ireland"; several famous Armachians are listed
  • Guide to Gravestone Inscriptions - information from the PRONI
  • History from Headstones - online search of gravestone inscriptions in Northern Ireland, by county
    • search facility includes maps by county and by religious denomination
  • Journal of the Association for the Preservation of the Memorials of the Dead in Ireland, Printed at the University Press by Ponsonby and Gibbs, 1909
    • Vol. 1-3 & Index to 1888-1909 - no longer available on CD
    • Vol. 1-6, 1888-1906, LDS film 127952
    • Vol. 7-8, 1907-1912, LDS film 127954
    • Vol. 9, 1913-1916, LDS film 1279285, Item 15
  • Mitchell, Bryan. A Guide to Ireland Graveyards and Cemeteries, Baltimore, MD: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1990
  • Understanding the Stones - information from the PRONI
  • Review - Journal of the Craigavon Historical Society

Census

Church Directories

Church History

Church Records

  • Bibliography
    • Church of Ireland
      • Lalor, P., Church of Ireland Parish Registers prior to Civil Registration: Some Preliminary Observations, in Familia, Vol. 2, No. 1, 1985
      • O'Duill, G., Church Records after Disestablishment, in Irish Archives Bulletin, Vol. 5, 1975
    • Religious Society of Friends (Quakers)
      • Eustace, P. Beryl, and Olive C. Goodbody, Quaker Records Dublin - Abstracts of Wills, Dublin, 1957
      • Goodbody, Olive C., and B.G. Hutton, Guide to Irish Quaker Records, Dublin: Dublin Stationery Officed for the Irish Manuscripts Commission, 1967
  • County Armagh church records, a listing from Fianna
  • General Description, from the PRONI 
  • Handbooks
    • Irish church records: their history, availability, and use in family and local history research, edited by James G. Ryan, Flyleaf Press, Glenageary, Co. Dublin, 1992
    • Mitchell, Brian, A guide to Irish parish registers, Genealogical Pub. Co., Baltimore, 1995
  • Sources

Civil Registration

  • General Register Office [GRO] of the Republic of Ireland, at Dublin
    • History of Registration in Ireland - from the GRO
    • Research page provides information about how to conduct searches in the GRO's reading room, and details of that office's holdings of civil records - includes records for the six counties that now make up Northern Ireland to 31 December 1922
  • General Register Office - from the PRONI's pamphlet, Your Family Tree: 25
  • General Register Office of Northern Ireland [GRONI], Belfast
    • Historical records
      • GRONI holds birth and death registers from 1 January 1864, and marriages from 1 January 1922
      • District Registrars' offices hold marriage registers from 1 April 1845 for non-Roman Catholic marriages and from 1 Jan 1864 for all marriages; also, birth and death registrations, but only for two years after the date of registration
        • Armagh City & District Council, The Palace, Demesne, Armagh  BT60 4EL
        • Craigavon Borough Council, Civic Centre, PO Box 66, Lakeview Road, Craigavon  BT64 1AL
        • Newry & Mourne District Council, District Council Offices, Town Hall, Bank Parade, Newry  BT35 6HR
    • Public search facilities:
      • Assisted and Index search facilities are provided, by appointment only
      • Computer indexes for births (1864 onwards), deaths (1864 onwards), marriages (1845 onwards), and World War II deaths (1939-1945)
  • LDS film Numbers, provided by genfindit.com:
  • McCorry, Francis X., Infant Mortality in Northern Irish Provincial Towns, from Review - The Journal of the Craigavon Historical Society, Vol. 5 No. 1
  • Superintendent Registrars' Districts by County, provided by the British Isles Family History Society - U.S.A.

Court Records

Description and Travel

Directories

  • 1805-1806-1807 - Holden's Triennial Directory of 85 Provincial Towns in Great Britain & Ireland.1805-1806-1807 (includes Belfast). Held by the Australian Insitute of Genealogical Studies, ref. fiche England Gen 159
  • 1820 - Thomas Bradshaw, The general directory of Newry, Armagh, and the towns of Dungannon, Portadown, Tandragee, Lurgan, Waringstown, Banbridge, Warrenpoint, Rosstrevor, Kilkeel, Rathfriland, 1820, Davidson Books, Ballynahinch, 1984
  • 1820/1 - Pigot, J., The Commercial directory, of Ireland, Scotland, and the four most northern counties of England, for 1820-21 and 1822. 1820/21 & 22 - LDS film 0962702, Item 1
  • 1824 - J. Pigot and Co., City of Dublin and Hibernian Provincial Directory
  • 1839 - Mathew Martin, Belfast Directory. Also 1841, 1842
  • 1840 - Lennox, William, The new commercial directory of Armagh, Newry, Londonderry, Drogheda, Dundalk, Monaghan, Omagh, Strabane, Dungannon, Lisburn, Lurgan, Portadown, and neighbouring towns; containing a history of those towns ... [Part I.]-II, pr. at the Standard Office, Derry, 1840
  • 1843 - Henderson, John, Henderson's new Belfast directory, and Northern Repository for 1843-44; containing information relating to the counties of Antrim, Armagh, and Down, with lists of the inhabitants of the chief towns, also an alphabetical list of the inhabitants of Belfast, together with a street directory, and a classification of trades and professions, Henderson, Belfast, 1843
  • 1846 - Slater, National Commercial Directory of Ireland
  • 1852 - James A. Henderson, Belfast and Province of Ulster Directory
    • Issued also in 1854, 1856, 1858, 1861, 1863, 1865, 1868, 1870, 1877, 1880, 1884, 1887, 1890, 1894, 1900
  • 1856 - Slater, Royal National Commercial Directory of Ireland
  • 1865 - R. Wynne, Business Directory of Belfast
  • 1870 - Slater, Directory of Ireland
  • 1881 - Slater, Royal National Commercial Directory of Ireland
  • 1883 - The Armagh (County) directory and almanac: for 1883, Eighth yearly issue, Pr. and publ. by S. Farrell, Portadown, [1883]
  • 1888 - Henry Bassett, County Armagh 100 years ago, a guide and directory, 1888, Friars Bush, Belfast, 1989
  • 1894 - Slater, Royal Commercial Directory of Ireland
  • 1910 - Belfast and Ulster Towns Directory - Contents Page - hosted by Library Ireland
  • Holdings of street directories at the PRONI, featuring an online search facility
  • Lennon Wylie street directories

Emigration and Immigration

Gazetteers

Heraldry

  • College of Arms, London, England
  • Genealogy and Heraldry Collection, at the Linenhall Library, Belfast
  • Kelly, Patrick (1893-), Irish family names with origins, meanings, clans, arms, crests, and mottoes, 2nd ed., [S.l., s.n.], 1958
  • MacLysaght, Edward, Irish families: their names, arms, and origins, 4th ed., Irish Academic Press, Dublin, 1985
  • Rooney, John (1837-), A genealogical history of Irish families with their crests and armorial bearings, [Cherouny printing and publishing co., New York, 1896]

Historical Geography

History

Land and Property

Language and Languages

Law and Legislation

  • Copyright for Family Historians - from GENUKI
  • Managing Copyright - Her Majesty's Stationery Office [HMSO] manages and licenses the re-use of Crown copyright material, defining policy and providing advice and guidance on a range of copyright matters.

Manors

Maps

You can see maps centred on Lat/Lon: 54.2981,-6.5156 (OSI grid reference H966398), which are provided by:

Military History

  • AIGS holdings
    • Film Irl Gen 30 contains: Muster Roll Springhill Corps, 27 January 1852; Armagh Militia, A-C, 1808; Will of Richard Gervais  Ker, 1823.
    • Film Irl Gen 28 contains:
      • The Muster Roll of Armagh, 1630, pp 131-164. Men in alpha sequence from 1831-c1855, with many interesting observations relative to issues of arms, transfers to Armagh Militia, police, etc., also details such as deaths & enrolments). Seagrove Yeomanry, Journal Occurrence & Memorandum Book 1820.(1792-1839).
      • Armagh Militia Records, including: 8th The Armagh Regiment, 1793-1833; 75th Regiment, 1833-1854; 75th Armagh Light Infantry, 1854-1881; 3rd Battalion Princess Victoria's Regiment, 1881-1907; Officers serving in the Armagh Regiment, 1801, 1813, 1854; Officers serving in the Light Infantry, 1855, 1857-1859,1864-1865,1868-1871, 1874-1881; Officers serving in 3rd Battalion Princess Victoria's (Royal Irish Fusiliers).1881-1907.
  • Army Museums - Ogilby Trust Museum Portal
  • Book list
  • McCance Collection: the book of original documents and transcripts has strong military associations relating mostly to the 1798 period in Ulster - held at the PRONI, Belfast (ref. D/272, MIC/575) [citation from RASCAL]
  • Military History Collections, National Museums, Northern Ireland
  • North Irish Horse Regimental Collection
  • Police Service of Northern Ireland (PSNI) - Museum
  • Review - Journal of the Craigavon Historical Society
  • Royal Inniskilling Fusiliers Regimental Museum
  • Royal Irish Fusiliers Regimental Museum
  • Royal Irish Regiment - from Simon Fordham
  • Royal Ulster Rifles Museum

Military Records

Names, Geographical

  • Book list
  • Goblet, Y. M., ed. A Topographical Index of the Parishes and Townlands of Ireland in Sir William Petty's Mss. Barony Maps (c. 1655-9) and Hiberniae Delineatio (c.1672), Dublin, 1932
    • Reprinted Genealogical Pub. Co., Baltimore, Md., 1999
    • FHL film 599359
  • Ireland Gazetteers, from Family Search - includes a section entitled, Finding Place-Names in the Family History Library Catalog
  • Journal articles
  • Northern Ireland Place-Name Project, a collaboration of Queen's University, Belfast, Land & Property Services, Arts & Humanities Research Council, and Foras na Gaeilge
  • Online resources:
  • Ordnance Survey: Name Books
    • PRONI MIC.6
    • NLI Collection G
  • Townland Indexes, based on census data from the following census years:
    • 1851: IreAtlas Townland Database.
      • Also available for purchase in book form: General Alphabetical Index to the Townlands and Towns, Parishes and Baronies of Ireland, Based on the Census of Ireland for the Year 1851, reprint of original 1861 publication, Genealogical Publishing Co., repr2000
    • 1871: FHL British Film 476999 Item 2
    • 1901: FHL British Film 865092
  • Ulster Names, a poem by John Hewitt, presented by the Creggan History Society
  • Ulster Place-Name Society

Names, Personal

Newspapers

Nobility

Occupations

Orphans and Orphanages

  • A Decent Set of Girls: The Irish Famine Orphans of the Thomas Arbuthnot, 1849-1850, by Richard Reid and Cheryl Mongan (Yass, N.S.W.: Yass Heritage Project, 1996)
  • Adoption of Irish orphans by Québec families
  • Arnold, M. & Laskey, H., Children of the Poor Clares: The Story of an Irish Orphanage, Appletree, Belfast, 1985
  • Barefoot and Pregnant? Irish Famine Orphans in Australia, by Trevor McClaughlin (Melbourne: Genealogical Society of Victoria, 1991)
  • Porteus, Robert John Norman, In the name of Jesus: a history of the County Armagh Protestant Orphan Society... , The Author, (Annaghmore), 1986 (QUB)
  • Protestant Orphan Society Records, 1828-1973, National Archives of Ireland, Dublin
  • The Feisty Colleens: Irish Famine Female Orphans in Pre-Separation Queensland (video), by Ray Debnam (Pelican Waters, Queensland: Ray Debnam, 2009)
  • The Golden Bridge: Young Immigrants to Canada, 1833-1839, by Marjorie Kohli (Toronto: Natural Heritage Books, c2003)
  • The Workhouse Orphans - information from the PRONI
  • Unnamed Irish Boys on Convict Ships, 1841-1843, sent to Queen's Orphanage, Hobart, Van Dieman's Land (New Town, Tasmania: J. Purtscher, 1993)
  • Wages Paid to Orphans Index, 1849-1851, created by Pat Stemp and Aileen Trinder, Archives Office of New South Wales (Rockdale, N.S.W.: Pastkeys, 1996)

Periodicals

  • Armagh Observatory: Textbooks and Scientific Journal Library Collection of 3000 volumes and 17000 journal volumes, treating on astronomy and related sciences c1790-present
  • Belfast Ulster Tatler, 1996-, Ulster tatler portrait series: mid-Ulster edition: covering counties Armagh, Tyrone and Fermanagh
  • Church of Ireland, Diocese of Armagh, Synod, Journal of the Synod of Armagh, 1898
  • Directory of Irish Family History Research (annual), published by Ulster Historical Foundation, available to members
  • Familia - Ulster Genealogical Review, published by Ulster Historical Foundation
  • North Irish Roots, published by the North of Ireland Family History Society
  • Seanchas Ardmacha, Journal of the Armagh Diocesan Society, Fr. Réamonn Ó Muirí, editor
  • SELB Newspaper & Journal Collection: microforms in excess of 6,000, approximately 350 journal titles - held at the Irish & Local Studies Library, Armagh
  • The Irish Ancestor
    • Published between 1969-1986 (18 vols.), edited by Rosemary ffolliott of Fethard, Co. Tipperary, Ireland.
    • Available from Eneclann, as described by Dick Eastman
  • The Irish Sword
    • Journal of the Military History Society of Ireland. Published since 1949 by the Military History Society of Ireland.

Politics and Government

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

Probate Records

  • AIGS holdings
    • Armagh District Will Book 1861-1864 (Film Irl Gen 45)
    • Armagh District Will Book 1864-1868 (Film Irl Gen 46)
    • Armagh District Will Book 1858-1861 (Film Irl Gen 47)
    • Armagh District Will Book 1872-1875 (Film Irl Gen 48)
    • Armagh District Will Book 1877-1879 (Film Irl Gen 49)
    • Armagh District Will Book 1880-1881 (Film Irl Gen 50)
    • Armagh District Will Book 1882-1883 (Film Irl Gen 51)
    • Armagh District Will Book 1884-1885 (Film Irl Gen 52)
    • Armagh District Will Book 1886-1887 (Film Irl Gen 53)
  • Wills and Testamentary Records held at the National Archives of Ireland, Dublin
  • Wills and Testamentary Records held at the PRONI, Belfast; search the Will Calendars online

Schools

Social life and Customs

Societies

Taxation

Voting Registers

  • Armagh (Northern Ireland: County), Register ... of persons entitled to vote at any election ... which shall take place ... between the 15th day of March, 1851, and the 1st day of December, 1852, pr. by J. McWatters, 17, English Street, Armagh, [1852]
  • Voters, Poll and Freeholder Books held at the PRONI