Hide

Killyman (County Armagh)

hide
Hide

If you'd be interested in helping our volunteer team to maintain & update this webpage, then just get in-touch using the contact link at the foot of the page.

Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
hide
Hide

KILLYMAN, a parish, partly in the barony of O'NEILLAND-WEST, county of ARMAGH, but chiefly in that of DUNGANNON, county of TYRONE, and province of ULSTER, 2 miles (N.) from Moy, on the river Blackwater and the road from Belfast to Dungannon; containing 7579 inhabitants. According to the Ordnance survey it comprises 10,559¼ statute acres, of which 3154¾ are in Armagh, and 7404½ in Tyrone, and of which 7729 are applotted under the tithe act and valued at £8534 per annum. The land is exceedingly fertile, and the system of agriculture improved; there is abundance of bog, and on the lands of Dungorman a quarry of red sandstone, which is chiefly used for building and for flags. The river Blackwater for nearly two miles forms here a boundary between the counties, and after separating those parts of the parish which are in opposite baronies, falls into Lough Neagh; it is crossed by Verner's bridge, a handsome structure of one arch, with others on each side, forming a continued causeway, which is frequently overflowed, leaving only the central arch visible above the river. The surface is marked by numerous elevations, the highest of which are Drumina, Roan hill, and Lowestown, the valleys between which are good meadow land. There are extensive meadows along the banks of the Blackwater and the Roan, and at Bernagh is an extensive wood of full-grown oaks, which, with the plantations of Roan hill and the other woods and plantations in the parish, has a very fine effect. Limestone, freestone, basalt, quartz, clay, and clay-slate are found in abundance; there are also indications of coal.

In the sandstone near Roan hill are interesting specimens of fossil fish entirely perfect, with the fins minutely distinct. The gentlemen's seats are Bernagh, the residence of the Hon. Mrs. Knox, a handsome mansion on the great line of road; Church Hill, the seat of Col, Verner, a spacious and elegant residence, situated in an extensive and improved demesne, and commanding a fine view of the river Blackwater; the Grange, of Miss Thompson; Grange Park, of H. H. Handcock, Esq.; Brookfield, of H.Atkinson, Esq.; Rhone Hill, of T. Greer, Esq.; Tamnamore, of Jackson Lloyd, Esq.; and Cranebrook, of J. Cranston, Esq. The manufacture of linen and cotton is extensively carried on throughout this neighbourhood; and there are three large bleach-greens. At Twyford is a paper-mill, and at Lower Corr, a large manufactory for coarse earthenware, of which there are also others on a smaller scale in various parts of the parish. A manorial court is held monthly by the seneschal of the Lord-Primate, in which debts to the amount of £5 are recoverable. The living is a rectory, in the diocese of Armagh, and in the patronage of the Lord-Primate; the tithes amount to £484. 12. 4. The church, a neat structure, was erected in 1823. The glebe-house is a handsome edifice, and the glebe comprises 226 acres. In the R. C. divisions the parish forms part of the union or district of Dungannon: the chapel is a neat stone building, roofed with slate. There is a place of worship for Wesleyan Methodists. About 250 children are taught in four public schools, of which the parochial school is aided by £10 annually from the incumbent, and another is wholly supported by Col. Verner; there are also four private schools, in which are about 200 children, and a Sunday school. At Mullinakill is an ancient cemetery, which is still used.

from Lewis's Topographical Dictionary of Ireland, 1837.

Hide

Killyman civil parish straddles the border of County Tyrone & County Armagh, though the majority of the parish is within County Tyrone. There are currently two separate entries in the GENUKI Gazetteer (one for each county, appended with the County name) and whilst both show the full boundary outline on the map, each one only lists the townlands for that county, and the "next level" links also go to that county.  The Nearby Places and Nearby Churches maps - as usual - are not limited to one county.

Hide
topup

Archives & Libraries

topup

Cemeteries

Roman Catholic
Sacred Heart, Clonmore, Catholic
St Comgall, Mullenahill, Catholic
topup

Census

  • 1901 census - LDS microfilm numbers
    • Tyrone portion 1901 D.E.D. 59/1-12. FHL BRITISH Film 855987
    • Tyrone portion 1901 D.E.D. 59/13-27. FHL BRITISH Film 855988 Item 1
    • Tyrone portion 1901 D.E.D. 63/20-31. FHL BRITISH Film 855991 Item 1
    • No Armagh portions given in the FHL catalogue online
  • 1911 census - LDS microfilm numbers (only the Armagh portion of Killyman parish listed below)
    • Armagh portion -- D.E.D. 17/2-12. FHL BRITISH Film 808507 Item 1
    • Armagh portion -- Killyman D.E.D. 17/2-4, Townlands: Clonmore, Clontyclay, Derrycorry North. FHL BRITISH Film 1999865
    • Armagh portion -- Killyman D.E.D. 17/5-12 Townlands: Derrycorry South, Derryhirk, Derryhubbert East, Derryhubbert North, Derryhubbert South, Mullenakill North, Mullenakill South, Mullenakill West. FHL BRITISH Film 1999916
topup

Churches

Roman Catholic
Sacred Heart, Clonmore, Catholic
St Comgall, Mullenahill, Catholic
topup

Church Directories

  • Church of Ireland - Killyman parish [Armagh diocese]
    • The Church of Ireland - Find a church page
      • Parish Church of St Andrew, at Killyman -- St Andrew's Rectory, 85 Dungorman Road, Killyman, Co Tyrone, Northern Ireland BT71 6SE; Tel: 028 8772 2500
    • Representative Church Body Library
      • Braemor Park, Churchtown, Dublin 14; Tel: +353 (0)1 4923979
  • Methodist Church at Laghey: Contact information from the Methodist Church in Ireland, Portadown District
  • Roman Catholic - Parish of Dungannon [Archdiocese of Armagh]
    • Historically and currently, the County Armagh portion of the R.C. parish of Dungannon coincides with the County Armagh portion of the civil parish of Killyman
      • Church of St Brigid, (1786), at Killyman -- Mailing address: Parochial House, 6 Circular Rd, Dungannon,Co Tyrone BT71 6BE; Tel (028) 8772 2631
    • Modern R.C. pastoral areas are shown on this Pastoral Area Map
topup

Church History

topup

Church Records

  • Church of Ireland - Killyman parish [Armagh diocese]
    • Baptisms, 1745-1871; marriages, 1741-1845; burials, 1745-1875; vestry minutes, 1756-1894; confirmations, 1837. PRONI ref. T.679/383-393.
  • Methodist Church at Laghey - Baptisms, 1830-. (At Dungannon). In local custody.
  • Roman Catholic - Parish of Dungannon (Drumglass, Killyman and Tyllyniskin) [Armagh diocese]
    • The Catholic parish of Dungannon was formerly called Drumglass, Killyman and Tyllyniskin. It includes the civil parishes of Drumglass in Co. Tyrone, and Killyman and Clonfeacle in Co. Armagh but chiefly in Co. Tyrone.
    • Baptisms, marriages, and deaths, 1821-1826; baptisms, 1826-1833, 1836; marriages, 1826- 1833, 1831-1833, 1836; deaths, 1826-1833; and funerals, 1826; baptisms, marriages, and burials, 1833-1834. LDS ref. FHL BRITISH Film 926038 Items 1 - 3
    • Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1821-1881. PRONI ref. MIC.1D/31-32
    • Baptisms, 14 Oct1821 - 30 Oct 1826; marriages, 6 Oct 1821 - 30 Oct 1826; deaths, 11 Oct 1821 - 7 June 1880. NLI ref. P.5580
    • Map of RC parishes in Co Armagh, from John Grenham's Irish Ancestors web site:
      • Click on the parish of Dungannon, to obtain a list of parish registers
      • Hold the mouse pointer over the parish to see variant names.
  • Sources, for the references given above, include:
topup

Description & Travel

The Wikipedia entry for Killyman (County Armagh).

You can see pictures of Killyman (County Armagh) which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

topup

Historical Geography

The civil parish of Killyman (County Armagh) contained the townlands of:
Clonmore, Clontyclay, Derrycorry North, Derrycorry South, Derryhirk, Derryhubbert East, Derryhubbert North, Derryhubbert South, Mullenakill North, Mullenakill South, Mullenakill West,
topup

Land & Property

topup

Maps

You can see maps centred on OSI grid reference H8661360842 (Lat/Lon: 54.488631, -6.664254), Killyman (County Armagh) which are provided by:

topup

Names, Geographical

topup

Newspapers

  • IrelandOldNews - an ongoing, volunteer project to transcribe 18th & 19th century Irish newspapers
    • Input "Killyman" and spelling variants (e.g., "Killiman") into the "Find" box
    • Also try inputting townland and other placenames found in Killyman parish
    • Of course, you may also wish to search for your favourite personal and family names!
    • Revisit the IrelandOldNews web site periodically, as transcribers update their county pages regularly
  • The Belfast Newspaper Index, 1737-1800; compiled by Dr. John C. Greene of Lafayette, Louisiana, U.S.A.
topup

Politics & Government

  • ---, A Full, accurate, and authentic report of the speeches delivered at a meeting of the Protestant gentlemen of the county of Armagh, : on the 5th October, 1826, at a dinner given to Colonel Verner [Killyman parish], candidate at the late general election for the representation of that county in Parliament, John Hoare, 27, Parliament-street, Dublin ..., [1826]
    • NLI: P 529(13), Coll. P.
  • Anketell, John (b. 1750?), A letter to the Rev. Henry Conwell, D.D. Popish priest of Drumglass and Killyman, in the County of Tyrone, relative to a pamphlet lately published by Richard Wilson, Esq, printed for the author, Dublin, 1807
    • NLI: P 1231(2), Coll. P.
topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law

topup

Public Records

  • Holdings of documents related to Killyman parish at the PRONI
    • Papers about individual parishes in the Archdiocese of Armagh
      • "Annaghmore, near Killyman, Cos Armagh and Tyrone -- The documents run from 1854 to 1963 (with many gaps)."
      • "Killyman, near Dungannon, Cos Tyrone and Armagh -- The documents date from 1748, 1775 and 1818-1950 (with many gaps), and include information about improvement made to the glebe house, c.1825, and a c.1870 schedule of formal documents relating to buildings over the period 1737-1849."
  • PRONI references to the Ranfurly surname and the Earls of Ranfurly
    • Ranfurly and Seagoe Yeomanry Co. papers D/927
    • Ranfurly estate sale papers and RIC documents D/804
    • Ranfurly family document T/953
    • Ranfurly papers D/1932
    • Ranfurly papers D/235
    • Ranfurly papers T/3707
    • Ranfurly papers T/3779
    • Ranfurly, Synge, Thompson and Montgomery papers D/1217
topup

Schools

  • Register of Killyman National School, 1868-1950. The civil parish of Killyman lies partly in county Tyrone and partly in county Armagh. The school is under the jurisdiction of the Southern School Board. PRO ref. Sch 47/1/1-4.' [Source: FHL catalogue online]
    • Register of males, 1868-1899. Register of females, 1868-1901. Register of females, 1896-1950. Register of males, 1912-1950. LDS ref. FHL BRITISH Film 1656967 Items 3-6
topup

Taxation

  • Scott, Henry Gordon Waller, Some notes on the Parish of Clonoe, Diocese of Armagh. Microfilm of manuscript: [19--]. 131, 35, [14] p. Manuscript is at the Armagh County Museum, Armagh, ref. no. E7. LDS ref. FHL BRITISH Film 1279327 Item 7 [Source: FHL catalogue online]
    • Includes: Masonic Lodge no. 480 held in Cloghog, Co. Tyrone, 1 March 1770 -- Hearth money rolls for the parishes of Tullyniskan, Drumglass, Killyman and Clonoe, 1664 and 1666.
  • Valuation Records
    • 1848-1864, General valuation of rateable property in Ireland, "Griffith's Valuation"