COUNTY CLARE
"Clare, a county
of Ireland, province of Munster, 55 miles long and 38 broad; bounded on
the W by the Atlantic, N by Galway, and E and S by the Shannon, which separates
it from Tipperary, Limerick, and Kerry. It is divided into 79 parishes,
has two market towns, and sends three members to parliament. It breeds
more horses than any other county in Ireland, beside a great number of
cattle and sheep. Pop. 209,595. Capital, Ennis."
[From The New London Gazetteer (1826)]
INFORMATION RELATED TO ALL OF COUNTY CLARE
Archives, Repositories and Libraries
-
County Clare Library, a major
genealogical resource, includes Origins of Heraldry, Parishes and
Church Records, Griffith's Valuaation Index for Co. Clare 1855, Land Owners
in Clare 1876, Deaths in the Liscannor area 1864-1870, List of Tenants
on Cololen O'Callaghan's Estate, Bodyke 1890s, Biographical Notices from
the Clare Champion newpaper 1935-1985
-
The National Library of Ireland, every
year thousands of people visit the National Library to carry out family
history research.
Library material much used by family history researchers includes the
microfilms of Catholic parish registers, copies of the important nineteenth
century land valuations (the Tithe Applotment Books and Griffith's Valuation),
trade and social directories, estate records and newspapers.
-
The National Archives of Ireland,
was established on 1 June 1988. It is an amalgamation of the Public Record
Office of
Ireland, founded in 1867 and the State Paper Office, founded in 1702.
Many of the archives accessioned by the Public Record Office of Ireland
before 1922 were destroyed by fire and explosion at the beginning of the
Civil War in June 1922. Consequently, the archives now held by the National
Archives date mainly from the 19th and 20th centuries, although some date
back as far as the 13th century.-
Public Records Office of Ireland. Four Courts, Dublin 7, Ireland.
Tithe Applotment Books, estate records, court records, etc.
-
Genealogical Office. 2 Kildare Street, Dublin 2, Ireland. Includes a
variety of materials on Irish famililies, now a part of the National Library.
-
Registrars General's Office. 8-11 Lombard St, Dublin 2, Ireland. The
official birth, death and marriage records of Ireland from 1864 onwards.
-
Registry of Deeds. Henrietta Street, Dublin 1, Ireland. Property
transactions since 1608
Bibliography
-
The Clare Guild. Official Guide of County Clare, by D. Roche
-
County Clare, A History and Topography. Reprinted by Clasp
Press, 1995, from A History and Topography of County Clare
which was originally published in 1837 as part of A Topographical Dictionary
of Ireland.
-
The Merchants of Ennis. By Seán Spellissy. Published
1996 for Ennis Chamber of Commerce by On Stream Publications Ltd.,
Cloghroe, Blarney, Co. Cork.
-
The Ennis Compendium, From Royal Dún to Information Age Town.
By Seán Spellissy. A combined history and business
directory for Ennis and Clarecastle. Published 1998 by The Book Gallery,
68 Parnell Street, Ennis, Co. Clare.
-
Families of County Clare. Volume III of the Book of Irish Families,
great & small. By Michael C. O'Laughlin, 1996.
Biography
Census
-
1901 County Clare
census index for assorted Poor Law Unions, over 10,000 entries transcribed
by Ruth C. Hakala
-
UK Public Record Office,
on
line census, records, medieval seals, Macmillan on-line
-
Kilfenora
Catholic Parish Census 1866, head of household index with spouse's full
name
-
1659 Pender Census by barony. Gives number of English and Irish living in
each townland and
principal Irish names in each barony. Edited by Seamus Pender in 1939.
Baronies:
Bunratty,
Burren,
Clandirala,
Corcomroe,
Ibrickane & Enish,
Inchiquine,
Island,
Moyferta, and
Tulla.
Church Records
-
Civil
Parishes, description of parish, townlands and map of each parish
-
The Church
of Ireland, The archives of the Church of Ireland, and particularly
parochial registers of baptisms, marriages, and burials, are a primary
source for genealogists and family historians. Although many registers
were destroyed in the past, especially in the fire in the Public Record
Office of Ireland in 1922, many others have survived in a number of custodies
and are available to researchers.
-
The Presbyterian
Church in Ireland serves the whole island, both North and South and,
with a total membership of some 300,000 people in over 560 congregations.
-
Roman
Catholic Parish Registers. A table by civil parish wish corresponding
Catholic parishes and earliest date when records are available.
-
Church of
Ireland Parish Registers. A table by parish with corresponding
earliest dates when records are available, includes baptism, marriage and death
records.
Description and Travel
Directories
- Lucas's Directory of Ennis (1788)
- Pigots Directory of Ennis (1824
- Slaters Directory of Ennis (1846) (1856)
- Bassett's Directory of Ennis (1866)
- Burkes Irish Family Records
- Slaters Directory of Ennis, Ennistymon, Kilkee, Killaloe, Kilrush, Miltown
Malbay, Newmarket on Fergus, Sixmilebridge & Cratlow, Tulla (1870)
- Guys Postal Directory of Munster (1886)
Genealogy
Online Resources:
-
Irish
Times - Clare Genealogical Resources - an excellent guide
-
Clare -
Fianna's county page
-
IreAtlas Townland Database Search Page
-
Graham Jaunay's On-line
Irish Names Research Directory, County Clare, A-M
-
On-Line Irish
Names Research Directory, County Clare, N-Z
-
IrelandGenWeb - County Clare
Genealogical Resources
-
Rootsweb
- County Clare Query Board
-
County Clare look
up service, volunteers offer to do lookups in books and assorted records
-
From
Ireland's Clare site offers graveyard inscriptions, church records,
journals, surname studies, townland studies, etc.
Heritage Centres:
-
Clare Heritage and Genealogical
Centre
-
The East Clare Heritage Center
does genealogy research for a large area of East County Clare and publish
an annual Historical and genealogical Journal called Sliabh Aughty.
They have also published histories of Scariff Tuamgraney and Mountshannon
and are presently publishing a History of the O'Gray Clan.
Heraldry
Land and Property
-
The Ireland Land Valuation
Office, The archive in the Valuation Office holds a list of occupiers
of
property for the 26 Counties in the Republic of Ireland. The records
go back to 1846.
-
Land
Owners in Clare 1876
-
List of Tenants
on Colonel O'Callaghan's Estate, Bodyke, 1890s
-
The Tithe Applotment Books, 1823-1838 list each landholder along with details
such as townland, size of holding, land quality and type of crops for all
of Ireland. They have been filmed by the LDS Family History Library
and are arranged in the catalog under civil parishes. In 1831 a list
was made of
Tithe
Defaulters.
-
Griffith's Valuation Index
1855
-
1796 Irish
Flax Growers for County Clare. Lists names and civil parish for
those who grew an acre or more of flax.
-
Registry of Land deeds on LSD film with film numbers:
-
Indexes to Transcripts, for all of Ireland by townland. Use these
Indexes to Locate the Volume, Page and Memorial Number of Interest
-
Grantors' Index. A Grantor is the name the name of the person selling,
giving or otherwise disposing of land or some other asset.
-
Registry of Deeds, 1708 to 1929. This repository (the Registry of
Deeds, Dublin) now offers one of the most certain sources of genealogical
information concerning families in a wide range of social station and material
wealth. Records of tenants in modest circumstances, comfortably established
gentry and great landlords are all represented here.
Maps
Names
-
List you surname in the County
Clare Rosters
A to K,
or L to Z, and find connections.
-
Subscribe to theIreland
Roll Calls mailing list and find others searching your surname.
-
The only truly Irish mailing list run by a professional genealogist who
lives in Ireland. Ireland
Genealogy A must list for serious Ireland researchers.
-
Join the County
Clare mailing list devoted to those doing genealogical research in
County Clare.
-
Post a query into CousinConnect,
it's free! You can edit and delete them at any time. You have total control, and
total privacy.
-
Surname Index, County Clare for all spellings of
Cullinan(e)
-
Surname Index, County Clare for all spellings of
Fahy/Fahey
Newspapers
Periodicals
- From Fianna: Dal gCais (annual), Mr. G. Hughes, Glandine, Milltown, Malbay, Co. Clare
- The Other Clare (annual), Ms. R. Donovan, Shannon Archaeological and Historical Society, 5 Tullyglass Hill, Shannon,
Co. Clare ISSN 0332-088X
- Irish Families. ISSN 1056 0378
- The Old Limerick Journal
- The Clareman
- North Munster Antiquarian Society Journal
- Sliabh Aughyt. (East Clare Heritage Center) ISSN 0791-4571
Politics and Government
-
Ireland, Information on the Irish State.
This site will help you find government organizations or information by
providing links, indices of recent publications
and a search engine that searches all government sites.
-
The National Statistics of the
UK website contains a vast range of official UK statistics and information
about statistics, which can be accessed and downloaded free.
Public Records
-
The General Register Office
(Oifig An Ard-Chláraitheora) is the central repository for records
relating to Births, Deaths and Marriages in the Republic of Ireland. It
is concerned with civil registration matters only, and does not engage
in genealogical research. Records of marriages other than Roman Catholic
marriages date back to 1st April 1845. Records of Births, Deaths and Roman
Catholic Marriages date to 1st January, 1864.
-
UK Public Record Office,
on line census, records, medieval seals, Macmillan on-line
Societies
-
Genealogical Society of Victoria.
The GSV is the second largest family history/genealogical society within
Australia with approximately 7000 members. The GSV has three member services
groups - Irish Ancestry Group, Scottist Ancestry Group and the International
Settlers Group. These groups are very active, hold regular meetings and
have quarterly newsletters.
Towns and Parishes
-
Townlands
are the smallest administrative division of an Irish county.
Vital Records
Wills
- Indexes to Irish Wills, by Phillimore & Thrift. volume 3. (1653-1800
Diocese of Killaloe and Kilfenora. 1615-1800 for the Diocese of
Limerick) 1909
- From the Family History Library:
- Index to Killaloe & Kilfenora administration bonds 1704-1857 (#100962)
- Index to Limerick administration bonds 1789-1855 (#100959)
- Index to the Prerogative Wills of Ireland 1536-1810. Sir Arthur
Vicars. 1897. Dublin
NOTE: If you have some expertise in both Irish Genealogy and basic web
page contruction, and might be interested in taking over the further development
of this county page or any of the
GENUKI/Ireland county
pages that are available for adoption, please take a look at the GENUKI
Help Us page and then
contact Richard White, circman@hotmail.com.
Last updated February 4, 2005 by Pat Connors