Hide

Aglish

hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
hide
Hide

"AGLISH, a parish in the barony of MAGUNIHY, county of KERRY, and province of MUNSTER, 4 miles (S. E.) from Milltown, on the north-east side of the river Laune, and on the road from Killarney to Milltown; containing 1,091 inhabitants. It comprises 4,924 statute acres, as applotted under the tithes act."
[From A Topographical Dictionary of Ireland by Samuel Lewis (1837)]

Hide
topup

Cemeteries

Aglish Old Cemetery surrounds the ruins of the ancient parish church of Aglish. Grid Reference: V 907 972.

A number of inscriptions have been transcribed on the Find A Grave website

Joe Maher has photographs of memorials on his Kerry Burials website.

Aglish New Cemetery was opened in 1968.

Memorial transcriptions can be found on the Find A Grave Website and photographs on Kerry Burials.

Burial records from 1968-2008 have been scanned as a PDF by Kerry County Council and can be downloaded here. The entries can be searched at the council's Graveyard Records Website.

The graveyards are maintained by Aglish Graveyard Committee.

Cemeteries
Aglish Church Ruins and Graveyard
Aglish New Cemetery, Killarney
topup

Census

Note: The Civil Parish of Aglish ceased to be used for census purposes in the mid nineteenth century when District Electoral Divisions (DEDs) were introduced.

Aglish is now contained in parts of five DEDs:

  • Aghadoe DED (Barleymount East; Middle and West, Racomane East and West townlands and part of Aghadoe parish) - map here.
  • Aglish DED (Aglish, Ballytrasna, Coolbane, Coolroe East and West, Flintfield, Laharan, Seersha, Trippeenagh townlands - and part of Kilbonane parish)
  • Ballyhar DED (Aghalee Beg, Droomdoohig Beg, Sheans East and West townlands - and parts of Kilcredane and Aghadoe parishes)
  • Lahard DED (Doonkinane townland)
  • Rockfield DED (Acres, Ballinillane, Ballybrack, Ballynacarrig East and West, Boolasallagh townlands)

The National Archives of Ireland have made the 1901 and 1911 census available online. Individual schedules can be downloaded as PDF files. 

 

topup

Churches

Anglican
Aglish Church, Church of Ireland
Cemeteries
Aglish Church Ruins and Graveyard
Aglish New Cemetery, Killarney
Roman Catholic
St Gertrude, Firies, Catholic
topup

Church History

The Church of Ireland had a parish church built in 1823 next to the ruins of the ancient church in the parish burial ground.

The Representative Church Body Library has architectural drawings of this church carried out by James Pain in 1835. They comprise a south elevation and plan  and a plan of Aglish Churchyard.

This was demolished in 1871, when the parish was united to Kilcolman. Further mergers saw it united with Kiltallagh in 1922 and Killorglin, Knockane and Glenbeigh in 1968. This is now called the Kilcolman Union of Parishes. 

The united Roman Catholic parish of Molahiffe and Aglish (which also includes Kilninare and Kilcredane) has been in existence since the early nineteenth century. Around the year 1872 the parish was renamed Firies. A church (The Church of the Sacred Heart) was built at Ballyhar - sometimes called Aglish church although it is not in the civil parish. The other church in the parish is at Firies (St Gertrude's) and has sometimes been called Molahiffe. The parish website is here.

topup

Church Records

The surviving Church of Ireland parish registers were transferred in 2011 to the Representative Church Body Library, Braemor Park, Newtown Little, Churchtown, Co. Dublin, D14 N735.

Registers of baptisms 1824-1878, marriages 1825-1845 and burials 1835-1876 were lost in the destruction of the Public Record Office of Ireland in 1922. The following are in the RCB Library under the parish code P.1019:

The Firies (originally Molahiffe and Aglish) Catholic Registers start in 1830 for both marriages and baptisms, but are in in poor condition with pages missing.
The registers remain in the custody of the parish priest, although they were microfilmed and are now available as images from the National Library of Ireland website:

 

topup

Civil Registration

From 1863 Aglish was part of the Killarney Superintendent Registrar's District. See the Registration Districts page.
The District Electoral Divisions listed above are used for civil registration, and the parish was split between two Registrar's Districts as follows:

  • Killarney No.1 Registrar's District
    Aghadoe DED, Lahard DED 
    (Barleymount East; Middle and West, Doonkinane, Racomane East and West townlands) 
  • Molahiffe Registrar's District
    Aglish DED, Ballyhar DED, Rockfield DED
    (Acres, Aghalee Beg, Aglish, Ballinillane, Ballybrack, Ballynacarrig East and West, Ballytrasna, Boolasallagh, Coolbane, Coolroe East and West, Droomdoohig Beg, Flintfield, Laharan, Seersha, Trippeenagh Sheans East and West townlands)

The Irish Genealogy website has indexes and images for the following:

  • Births:1864 to 1919
  • Marriages: 1845 to 1944 (non-Roman Catholic Marriages are recorded from 1845, Roman Catholic Marriages are recorded from 1864)
  • Deaths: 1864 to 1969 (images only from 1878)
topup

Description & Travel

You can see pictures of Aglish which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

topup

Historical Geography

The civil parish of Aglish contained the townlands of:
Acres, Aghalee Beg, Ballinillane, Ballybrack (Aglish), Ballynacarrig East, Ballynacarrig West, Ballytrasna (Aglish), Barleymount East, Barleymount Middle, Barleymount West, Boolasallagh, Coolroe East (Aglish), Coolroe West (Aglish), Doonkinane, Dromdoohig Beg, Flintfield, Laharan, Racomane East, Racomane West, Seersha, Sheans East, Sheans West, Trippeenagh,
topup

Land & Property

The entry for Aglish from Griffiths Valuation 1847/64

topup

Maps

A Map showing the Townlands of Aglish from Rootsweb

 

You can see maps centred on OSI grid reference V9165597707 (Lat/Lon: 52.121122, -9.582577), Aglish which are provided by: