Hide
Marhin
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"MARHIN, a parish in the barony of Corkaguiny, county Kerry, province of Munster, Ireland, 5 miles W. of Dingle, which is its post town. It is 2 miles long and 1 mile broad. The surface partakes of the mountainous and boggy character of the barony, and is traversed by the road from Dingle to Dunmore Head. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Ardfert and Aghadoe, value with another, £56. Divine service is held in the water-guard station at Donquin. Here are two day-schools. Here are ruins of the old church; likewise the remains of the castle of the Desmonds, near which are some Druidical remains."
Hide
| Ballywiheen Church Ruins and Graveyard |
Census household schedules for 1901 and 1911 survive. These have ben microfilmed by the Church of Latter Day Saints and digitised and made available online for free by the National Archives of Ireland. The census was compiled using the District Electoral Divisions created for civil registration purposes rather than civil parishes. Marhin parish was included in two DEDs and the censuses can be browsed from the following links:
| Ballywiheen Church Ruins and Graveyard |
The ancient parish church, now known as Ballywiheen Church, is in ruins in a graveyard that is still in use.
In the Established Church (now the Church of Ireland) Marhin has been held jointly with Dingle and Dunquin since 1669. Although the parish continued to have a separate existence until 1871, no place of worship was maintained.
In the Roman Catholic Church the parish of Marhin has long been merged with Dunurlin, Dunquin, Kilmalkedar and Kilquane. Known by various names, it is now the parish of Ballyferriter or Baile an Fheirtéariagh. There is no Catholic church in Marhin Civil Parish, the churches for the combined parishes being at Ballyferriter, Carraig and Dunquin. Ballyferriter Parish page on the Diocese of Kerry website.
Catholic registers begin in the year 1807. The registers from that year until 1881 have been microfilmed and digitised and can be viewed on the National Library of Ireland website at this link. Later registers are in the custody of the parish priest.
Church of Ireland registers are held in the Representative Church Body Library in Dublin. Listings of what remains for Dingle can be accessed here. Dunquin parish records are fragmentary. Registers for baptisms from 1853-60 and burials 1840-4 are at the RCB Library. A transcript covering 1731-1836 can be found in RCB manuscript PC78.
The entries for the parish registers have been transcribed and are available to search on the government's Irish Genealogy Website.
The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Marhin to another place.
You can see maps centred on OSI grid reference Q3612503543 (Lat/Lon: 52.159864, -10.395486), Marhin which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Copy
Marhinand paste it along with the county name into the search box at Ordnance Survey Ireland. - GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.