We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.


"Ballytarsney", a parish, in the barony of Iverk, county of Kilkenny, and province of Leinster, 6 1/2 miles (E. S. E.) from Carrick-on-Suir; the population is returned with the parish of Poleroan. The parish is situated on the road from Waterford to Limerick, and is about five British furlongs in length and breadth, comprising 1116 statute acres. It is a rectory and vicarage, in the diocese of Ossory, and forms part of the union of Clonmore. In the R. C. divisions it forms part of the union or district of Moncoin. Here are the remains of a square fort, which appears to have been of considerable stength.
[From A Topographical Dictionary of Ireland (1837)]

Church Records

Civil Parish: Ballytarsney. RC Parish: Mooncoin.
Earliest Records: b. Dec 1797; m. Jan 1772.

Cross reference to Family History Library microfilm (double-check with the Library)

 Civil           Roman Catholic          Time            FHLC 
parish           parish                   period           number 
Ballytarsney    Mooncoin                not available 

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Ballytarsney which are provided by:


Ask for a calculation of the distance from Ballytarsney to another place.

Historical Geography

Townlands (1851)
 Parish               Townland                Acres   Diocese 
Ballytarsney    Afaddy or Silverspring  165     Ossory     
Ballytarsney    Ballytarsney            361     Ossory     
Ballytarsney    Kilcraggan              369     Ossory     
Ballytarsney    Silverspring or Afaddy  165     Ossory