GENUKI Home page
Kilkenny Contents Parishes and Towns



"Columbkille", Collumbkill, a parish, in the barony of Gowran, county of Kilkenny, and province of Leinster, 1 1/2 mile (N. E.) from Thomastown; containing 779 inhabitants. This parish is situated on the road from Thomastown to Greig, and contains 7113 statute acres. Kilmurry is the seat of Lord Chief Justice Bushe. It is a rectory and vicarage, in the diocese of Ossory, and is part of the union of Thomastown. In the R. C. divisions it forms part of the union or district of Thomastown; the chapel is at Murg. There are two private schools in which are about 60 boys and 50 girls.
[From A Topographical Dictionary of Ireland (1837)]

Church Records

Civil Parish: Columkille. RC Parish: Thomastown.
Earliest Records: b. Jun 1782; m. Jan 1786. Some 1806 to 1810 missing.

Cross reference to Family History Library microfilm (double-check with the Library)

Civil 		Roman Catholic	Time 		FHLC
parish		parish		period		number
Columkille	Thomastown	1782-1833	0926202
				1834-1880	0926203

Historical Geography

Townlands (1851)
Parish		Townland		Acres	Diocese
Columbkille	Ballyroe		61	Ossory    
Columbkille	Blessington      	206	Ossory    
Columbkille	Carrickmourne    	200	Ossory    
Columbkille	Columbkille		989	Ossory    
Columbkille	Dangan			409	Ossory    
Columbkille	Jackstown      		120	Ossory    
Columbkille	Kilcullen          	662	Ossory    
Columbkille	Kiljames Lower		222	Ossory    
Columbkille	Kiljames Upper		248	Ossory    
Columbkille	Kilmurry		371	Ossory    
Columbkille	Knockanroe		59	Ossory    
Columbkille	Mungmacody    		552	Ossory    
Columbkille	Ruppa			268	Ossory    
Edited by Dennis Walsh, last updated 10 Apr 1999

Return to top of page