GENUKI Home page
Kilkenny Contents Parishes and Towns



"Derrynahich", or Derrynahensy, a parish, in the barony of Knocktopher, county of Kilkenny, and province of Leinster, 2 1/2 miles (S. E.) from Knocktopher, on the road from Kilkenny to Waterford; containing 1784 inhabitants, and comprising 8171 statute acres. It is a rectory and vicarage, in the diocese of Ossory, and is part of the union of Knocktopher. In the R. C. divisions it is the head of a union or district called Ballyhale, and comprises the parishes of Derrynahinch, Knocktopher, Aghaviller, Killeasy, and parts of Burnchurch, Jerpoint and Kells, in which are five chapels, that of Derrynahinch being in the village of Ballyhale. There are four private schools, in which are about 180 children, and a Sunday school.
[From A Topographical Dictionary of Ireland (1837)]

Church Records

Civil Parish: Derrynahinch. RC Parish: Ballyhale; also Mullinavat.
Ballyhale - Earliest Record: b. Aug 1823; m. 1876.
Mullinavat - Earliest Records: b. Feb 1843; m. May 1843.

Cross reference to Family History Library microfilm (double-check with the Library)

Civil 		Roman Catholic	Time 		FHLC
parish		parish		period		number
Derrynahinch	Ballyhale	not available
Note: Ballyhale was part of Aghaviller R. C. parish prior to October 1847.
Derrynahinch	Mullinavat 	1843-1880	0926201
Note: Mullinavat was created from northern Kilmacow R. C. parish about 1842.

Historical Geography

Townlands (1851)
Parish		Townland		Acres	Diocese
Derrynahinch	Ballydowan		51	Ossory    
Derrynahinch	Ballyhale     		368	Ossory    
Derrynahinch	Ballytarsna		694	Ossory    
Derrynahinch	Castlebanny     	2071	Ossory    
Derrynahinch	Castlegannon    	972	Ossory    
Derrynahinch	Coolmeen       		617	Ossory    
Derrynahinch	Crowbally		520	Ossory    
Derrynahinch	Derrylacky		826	Ossory    
Derrynahinch	Derrynahinch		993	Ossory    
Derrynahinch	Kiltorcan     		976	Ossory    
Derrynahinch	Knockwilliam		248	Ossory    
Edited by Dennis Walsh, last updated 17 Apr 2004

Return to top of page