GENUKI Home page
Kilkenny Contents Parishes and Towns



"Dysartmoon", Dysertmore, or Desertmoon, a parish, in the barony of Ida, county of Kilkenny, and province of Leinster, 4 miles (S.) from Innistoge, on the river Nore; containing 1764 inhabitants. It comprises 5773 statute acres, as applotted under the tithe act, and is a vicarage, in the diocese of Ossory, forming part of the union of Rossbercon; the rectory is impropriate in corporation of Waterford. In the R. C. divisions also this parish is part of the union or district of Rossbercon. About 100 children are eductaed in two private schools; there is also a Sunday school.
[From A Topographical Dictionary of Ireland (1837)]
Also see the village of Tullogher.

Church Records

Civil Parish: Dysartmoon. RC Parish: Rosbercon.
Earliest Records: b. Apr 1817; m. Jan 1835.

Cross reference to Family History Library microfilm (double-check with the Library)

Civil 		Roman Catholic	Time 		FHLC
parish		parish		period		number
Dysartmoon	Rosbercon	not available

Historical Geography

Townlands (1851)
Parish		Townland		Acres	Diocese
Dysartmoon	Ballyconnaught		204	Ossory    
Dysartmoon	Ballyfoile Lower	113	Ossory    
Dysartmoon	Ballyfoile Upper	207	Ossory    
Dysartmoon	Ballykenna           	586	Ossory    
Dysartmoon	Ballyknock       	457	Ossory    
Dysartmoon	Ballyneale		167	Ossory    
Dysartmoon	Ballyreddy		316	Ossory    
Dysartmoon	Brownsford     		871	Ossory    
Dysartmoon	Brownstown    		655	Ossory    
Dysartmoon	Cooleen            	317	Ossory    
Dysartmoon	Curraghlane		343	Ossory    
Dysartmoon	Glenballyvally		449	Ossory    
Dysartmoon	Glentiroe        	189	Ossory    
Dysartmoon	Kilbraghan     		288	Ossory    
Dysartmoon	Newgrove    		409	Ossory    
Dysartmoon	Slievecarragh		262	Ossory    
Dysartmoon	Tullagher     		367	Ossory    
Edited by Dennis Walsh, last updated 12 Apr 1999

Return to top of page