GENUKI Home page
Kilkenny Contents Parishes and Towns



"Odagh", Odogh, or Three Castles, a parish, in the barony of Cranagh, county of Kilkenny, and province of Leinster, 4 1/2 miles (N. W.) from Kilkenny, on the road from Freshford to Durrow; containing 1367 inhabitants. This parish, which is intersected by the river Nore, comprises 4439 statute acres, as applotted under the tithe act. The river, over which is a neat stone bridge, adds much interest to the surrounding scenery, which is also enlivened by the seat of L.S. Ball, Esq., called Three Castles, which is situated in a pleasant demesne; and the Grange, the neat residence of W. Stannard, Esq. At Mount Eagle is an extensive distillery, the property of R. O'Donnell, Esq.: a constabulary police force is stationed in the parish. The living is a vicarage, in the diocese of Ossory, united by act of council, in 1797, to the vicarages of Donoughmore and Coolcraheen, and in the alternate patronage of the Crown and Bishop; the rectory is impropriate in the representatives of Sir James Tynte, Bart. The glebe-house was erected in 1800; the glebe comprises 20 acres. The church, a neat building, was erected about the year 1796. In the R. C. divisions the parish is partly in the union or district of Conahy, but chiefly in that of Freshford: the chapel, situated on the townland of Tullow, and called Three Castles, belongs to the latter union. About 30 children are taught in the parochial school, and there are five private schools, in which are about 240 children, and a Sunday school.
[From A Topographical Dictionary of Ireland (1837)]

Church Records

Civil Parish: Odagh. RC Parish: part Freshford; part Conahy.
Freshford - Earliest Records: b. Jan 1773; m. Aug 1775.
Conahy - Earliest Records: b. Jun 1832; m. Jun 1832.

Cross reference to Family History Library microfilm (double-check with the Library)
Civil 		Roman Catholic	Time 		FHLC
parish		parish		period		number
Odagh		Freshford pt 	1873-1880	0926192
Odagh		Conahy 		1832-1880	0926191
Note: Conahy was formed from the southern part of Balyragget R.C. parish.

Historical Geography

Townlands (1851)
Parish		Townland		Acres	Diocese
Odagh		Ballycarran		296	Ossory    
Odagh		Ballycarran Little	112	Ossory    
Odagh		Ballydaniel		377	Ossory    
Odagh		Bishopsmeadows   	50	Ossory    
Odagh		Borris Big     		41	Ossory    
Odagh		Borris Little  		7	Ossory    
Odagh		Carrigeen     		450	Ossory    
Odagh		Cooleeshal Beg     	97	Ossory    
Odagh		Cooleeshal More      	182	Ossory    
Odagh		Earlsbog		195	Ossory    
Odagh		Killaree		656	Ossory    
Odagh		Knockgrace   		69	Ossory    
Odagh		Leugh   		418	Ossory    
Odagh		Lushkinnagh		160	Ossory    
Odagh		Monafrica		41	Ossory    
Odagh		Naglesland      	63	Ossory    
Odagh		Odagh           	1	Ossory    
Odagh		Purcellsgarden   	194	Ossory    
Odagh		Simonsland		86	Ossory    
Odagh		Springhill		156	Ossory    
Odagh		Suttonsrath  		223	Ossory    
Odagh		Threecastles      	457	Ossory    
Odagh		Threecastles Demesne   	198	Ossory    
Edited by Dennis Walsh, last updated 17 Apr 1999

Return to top of page