GENUKI Home page
Kilkenny Contents Parishes and Towns



"Pollrone", or Poleroan, a parish, in the barony of Iverk, county of Kilkenny, and province of Leinster, 6 miles (N. W.) from Waterford, on the road to Carrick-on-Suir, and on the north-eastern bank of the river Suir; containing 1245 inhabitants. The living is a vicarage, in the diocese of Ossory, united by act of council, in 1680, to the vicarages of Potnescully and Illud, together consituting the union of Poleroan, in the gift of the Corporation of Waterford, in who the rectory is impropriate. There is a glebe-house with a glebe of 4 1/4 acrtes. In the R. C. divisions the parish forms part of the union or district of Moncoin. About 60 children are educated in a private school.
[From A Topographical Dictionary of Ireland (1837)]

Church Records

Civil Parish: Pollrone. RC Parish: Mooncoin (Carigeen).
Earliest Records: b. Dec 1797; m. Jan 1772.

Cross reference to Family History Library microfilm (double-check with the Library)
Civil 		Roman Catholic	Time 		FHLC
parish		parish		period		number
Pollrone	Mooncoin 	not available

Historical Geography

Townlands (1851)
Parish		Townland		Acres	Diocese
Pollrone	Afaddy or Silverspring	77	Ossory    
Pollrone	Ballybrassil		260	Ossory    
Pollrone	Ballytarsney		71	Ossory    
Pollrone	Clogga         		1067	Ossory    
Pollrone	Doornane		417	Ossory    
Pollrone	Grange     		643	Ossory    
Pollrone	Mooncoin		43	Ossory    
Pollrone	Nicholastown  		184	Ossory    
Pollrone	Pollrone       		699	Ossory    
Pollrone	Portnascully      	131	Ossory    
Pollrone	Silverspring or Afaddy	77	Ossory    
Edited by Dennis Walsh, last updated 28 Apr 1999

Return to top of page