GENUKI Home page
Kilkenny Contents Parishes and Towns



"Tullaghanbrogue", or Tullohanbroge, also Grove, a parish, in the barony of Shillelogher, [and partly in that of Cranagh], county of Kilkenny, and province of Leinster, 3 1/2 miles (W.S.W.) from Kilkenny, on the road to Callan; containing 620 inhabitants and comprising 3616 statute acres. Within its limits is Ballykeefe Hill, the property of the Earl of Desart, which has been lately planted to the extent of 90 acres, and forms a conspicuous and interesting feature. It is a rectory and vicarage, in the diocese of Ossory, forming part of the union of Inchiolaghan and the corps of the chancellorship. In the R. C. divisions it is in the union or district of St. Patrick's. Some remains of the old church of Kyleballykeefe still exist; and at Ballykeefe are the ruins of the castle of that name.
[From A Topographical Dictionary of Ireland (1837)]

Note: Traditionally, Tullaghanbrogue is divided into the R.C. parishes of Kilmanagh (barony of Cranagh) and that of Danesfort (barony of Shillelogher).

Church Records

Civil Parish: Tullaghanbrogue. RC Parish: St. Patrick's.
Earliest Records: b. Aug 1800; m. Jul 1801.
Civil Parish: Tullaghanbrogue. RC Parish: Ballycallan (or Kilmanagh)
Earliest Records: b. May 1820; m. Jul 1820.
Civil Parish: Tullaghanbrogue. RC Parish: Danesfort and Cuff's Grange.
Earliest Records: b. Jan 1819; m. Jan 1824.

Cross reference to Family History Library microfilm (double-check with the Library)
Civil 		Roman Catholic	Time 		FHLC
parish		parish		period		number
Tullaghanbrogue	Ballycallan pt	1845-1883	0926187
		Danesfort pt 	1819-1876	0926193
Note: Ballycallan was formed from the R.C. parish of Kilmanagh.

Historical Geography

Townlands (1851)
Parish		Townland		Acres	Diocese
Tullaghanbrogue	Acraroe			63	Ossory    
Tullaghanbrogue	Aghenderry		170	Ossory    
Tullaghanbrogue	Aghinraheen		319	Ossory    
Tullaghanbrogue	Ballybur		32	Ossory    
Tullaghanbrogue	Ballykeefe     		546	Ossory    
Tullaghanbrogue	Ballykeefe Hill    	230	Ossory    
Tullaghanbrogue	Ballykeefecastle  	293	Ossory    
Tullaghanbrogue	Cappafaulish    	87	Ossory    
Tullaghanbrogue	Coolapoge     		135	Ossory    
Tullaghanbrogue	Coolnabrone       	103	Ossory    
Tullaghanbrogue	Coontraght       	23	Ossory    
Tullaghanbrogue	Desart Demesne		500	Ossory    
Tullaghanbrogue	Grove        		324	Ossory    
Tullaghanbrogue	Kilballykeefe     	236	Ossory    
Tullaghanbrogue	Knockavally    		82	Ossory    
Tullaghanbrogue	Kyleandangan		95	Ossory    
Tullaghanbrogue	Monavaddra		158	Ossory    
Tullaghanbrogue	Muck            	157	Ossory    
Tullaghanbrogue	Muckmeadows 		27	Ossory    
Tullaghanbrogue	Riesk			37	Ossory    
Tullaghanbrogue	Ryelanes		164	Ossory    
Tullaghanbrogue	Sheeptown		28	Ossory    
Edited by Dennis Walsh, last updated 18 Apr 1999

Return to top of page