"Limerick, a county
Ireland, province of Munster, bounded N by the Shannon which separates
it from Clare, S by Cork, NE and E by Tipperary, and W by Kerry, 51 m.
long and 32 broad. The surface of this county, though diversified by small
hills, is not, generally speaking, mountainous, excepting on the SE, where
it is bounded by the Galtees, a lofty ridge which extends into Tipperary,
and on the borders of Kerry, where the land rises, and forms a grand amphitheatre
of low but steep mountains, which extend in a wide area from Loghill to
Drumcolloher. The land is generally fertile. The principal rivers are the
Maig, Feale, Gale, and Blackwater. It sends 2 members to parliament. The
climate is wet. Pop. 214,286."
[From The New London Gazetteer (1826)]
INFORMATION RELATED TO ALL OF LIMERICK
Archives and Libraries
in Co. Limerick - details from the Shannon Dev. Co.
- A total of over one million genealogical records are at the disposal
of staff at the Limerick Ancestry
Tipperary Heritage Unit - records
cover all 46 parishes of the Archdiocese of Cashel & Emly
Land Valuation Office -
holds a list of occupiers of property for the 26 Counties in the Republic
of Ireland which is broken down into Townlands within Rural Districts and
into Rural Districts within Counties. The records go back to 1846.
National Library of Ireland
- microfilms of Catholic parish registers, copies of the important nineteenth
century land valuations (the Tithe Applotment Books and Griffith's Valuation),
trade and social directories, estate records and newspapers
Public Records Office of Ireland. Four Courts, Dublin 7, Ireland. Tithe
Applotment Books, estate records, court records, etc.
- Genealogical Office. 2 Kildare Street, Dublin 2, Ireland. Includes a
variety of materials on Irish famililies, now a part of the National Library.
- Registrars General's Office. 8-11 Lombard St, Dublin 2, Ireland. The
official birth, death and marriage records of Ireland from 1864 onwards.
- Registry of Deeds. Henrietta Street, Dublin 1, Ireland. Property
transactions since 1608
- Families of County Limerick. Volume V of the Book of Irish Families,
great & small. By Michael C. O'Laughlin, 1997
- Exploring Limerick's Past, An Historical Geography of Urban Development in
County and City. By Patrick J. O'Connor, 1987.
- A Pauper Warren, West Limerick 1845-49. By Gerard Curtin, 2000.
- Lough Gur & District, Historical Society Journal 2000, Vol. No. 11.
- The Old Limerick Journal, Famine Edition. Number 32, Winter, 1995.
- Cappamore, A Parish History. Cappamore Historical Society, 1992.
- Index to the Townlands, and Towns, Parrishes and Baronies of Ireland.
Based on the census of 1851.
- A New Genealogical Atlas of Ireland, 2nd Edition. By Brian Mitchell,
- A Guide to Irish Parish Registers. By Brian Mitchell, 1988.
- Irish Records and Sources: For Family and Local History. By
James G. Ryan, 1997.
- Tracing Your Irish Ancesters, Second Edition. By John Grenham, 1999.
Census, Tithes, Griffith's Valuation & Directory Records
- with Catholic, Church of Ireland and other church parishes, first available
records, where they are available
Description and Travel
Land and Property
Growers, 1796 for County Limerick. Individuals who planted one
or more acres of flax.
Valuation for Doon Civil Parish. List of head of household property
Applotment for Cappamore Catholic Parish. List of head of household
Applotment for Gortavalla, including Moher and Cottage.
the land divisions of County Limerick: Baronies, Poor Law Unions,
Civil Parishes, dioceses, Catholic Parishes, townlands
The Tithe Applotment Books, 1823-1838 listed each landholder along with
details such as townland, size of holding, land quality and types of crops
for all of Ireland. The LDS Family History Library has filmed these
records and are listed in their catalog by townlands. Another list,
Defaulters was collected in 1831.
Land Registry Service.
Information concerning the Registries and some of the services provided by
the Land Registry
Registry of Land deeds on LSD film with film numbers:
Indexes to Transcripts, for all of Ireland by townland. Use these
Indexes to Locate the Volume, Page and Memorial Number of Interest
Grantors' Index. A Grantor is the name the name of the person selling,
giving or otherwise disposing of land or some other asset.
Registry of Deeds, 1708 to 1929. This repository (the Registry of
Deeds, Dublin) now offers one of the most certain sources of genealogical
information concerning families in a wide range of social station and material
wealth. Records of tenants in modest circumstances, comfortably established
gentry and great landlords are all represented here.
Civil Parishes of County Limerick, there are 130.
Poor Law Unions of County Limerick. Glin, Newcastle, Croom,
Kilmallock, Michelstown, Tipperary, Limerick and Rathkeale.
Roman Catholic Parishes of County Limerick. There are 65 in the
dioceses of Limerick, Killaloe, Cloyne and Cashel & Emly.
Baronies of County Limerick. Connello Lower, Kenry, Pubblebrien,
Limerick City, Clanwilliam, Owneybeg, Coonagh, Small County, Kilmallock,
Coshma, Connello Upper, Glenquin, Shanid, Coshlea.
- The parish map of the
Limerick Catholic Diocese.
List your surname in the County
Limerick Surname Roster and find connections.
Subscribe to the Ireland
Roll Calls mailing list to find others searching the same surname.
The only truly Irish mailing list run by a professional genealogist who
lives in Ireland. Ireland
Genealogy A must list for serious Ireland researchers.
Post a query into CousinConnect,
it's free! You can edit and delete them at any time. You have total control, and
The "Index of Surnames" or "Householders Index" records the occurrence of
household of a particular surname in each of the civil parishes of a county,
giving the exact number of households in the case of Griffith's Valuation (1851)
and the presence a surname in the Tithe Applotment Books (1826).
Annual Observer (annual), Mr. J. Cussan,
Newcastlewest Historical Society, Newcastlewest, Co. Limerick
Crom Abu (annual),
Mr. M. Spillane, Toureen, Croom, Co. Limerick
Old Limerick Journal (One per year - December issue),
Mr. Larry Walsh, Limerick City Museum, Limerick Museum, Castle Lane,
Nicholas Street, Limerick City
Tel +353 61 417826, Fax +353 61 415266
The General Register Office
(Oifig An Ard-Chláraitheora) is the central repository for records
relating to Births, Deaths and Marriages in the Republic of Ireland. It
is concerned with civil registration matters only, and does not engage
in genealogical research. Records of marriages other than Roman Catholic
marriages date back to 1st April 1845. Records of Births, Deaths and Roman
Catholic Marriages date to 1st January, 1864.
Deaths, 1869-70. Civil registration. Database includes name,
date of death, place of death, cause of death, age, occupation, marital status
and at times a close relative.
Genealogical Society of Victoria.
The GSV is the second largest family history/genealogical society within
Australia with approximately 7000 members. The GSV has three member services
groups - Irish Ancestry Group, Scottist Ancestry Group and the International
Settlers Group. These groups are very active, hold regular meetings and
have quarterly newsletters.
NOTE: If you have some expertise in both Irish Genealogy and basic web
page contruction, and might be interested in taking over the further development
of this county page or any of the
pages that are available for adoption, please take a look at the GENUKI
Help Us page and then
contact Richard White, firstname.lastname@example.org.
July 01, 2011 by Pat Connors
Special thanks to volunteer, June Howard, for transcribing County Limerick