We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

County Mayo

"Mayo, a county of Ireland, province of Connaught, 62 m. long and 52 broad, bounded E by Roscommon, S by Galway, W and N by the Atlantic, and NE by Sligo, 54 m. long, and 48 broad, and containing 796,000 acres, divided into 68 parishes. It sends 2 members to parliament. The W coast is mountainous, and thinly inhabited; but the interior produces excellent pasturage, and is watered by several lakes and rivers. Pop. 297,538. Chief town, Castlebar."
[From The New London Gazetteer (1826)]

Description and Travel

  • Mayo on the Move - lots of information related to County Mayo, provided by Mayo Ireland Ltd..


Book recommendation:

Smith, B. A Guide to Tracing your Mayo Ancestors, Glenageary, Co. Dublin, Ireland, Amazon.Com Listing 96 p. [ISBN 0 9508466 7 8]

Online Resources:


From Fianna:

Bohola Post (annual),
Mr. P.J. Finan, Bohola, Claremorris, Co. Mayo

North Mayo Historical and Archaeological Society Journal (annual)
Mr. J. Garry, Editor, 26 Maple Drive, Greenhills, Drogheda, Co. Louth

Castlebar Parish Magazine (annual),
Mr. J. Mee, c/o Connaught Telegraph, Castlebar

Cathair na Mart (annual),
The Chairman, Westport Historical Society, Carrowholly, Westport, Co. Mayo