GENUKI Home page
Ireland Ireland   Contents Contents   Table of Contents for this page Information related to
all of County Mayo
  Towns and Parishes Towns and Parishes


"Mayo, a county of Ireland, province of Connaught, 62 m. long and 52 broad, bounded E by Roscommon, S by Galway, W and N by the Atlantic, and NE by Sligo, 54 m. long, and 48 broad, and containing 796,000 acres, divided into 68 parishes. It sends 2 members to parliament. The W coast is mountainous, and thinly inhabited; but the interior produces excellent pasturage, and is watered by several lakes and rivers. Pop. 297,538. Chief town, Castlebar."
[From The New London Gazetteer (1826)]

Towns and Parishes


Archives and Libraries

Church Records

Description and Travel


Book recommendation:
Smith, B. A Guide to Tracing your Mayo Ancestors, Glenageary, Co. Dublin, Ireland, Amazon.Com Listing 96 p. [ISBN 0 9508466 7 8]
Online Resources:




From Fianna:
Bohola Post (annual),
Mr. P.J. Finan, Bohola, Claremorris, Co. Mayo

North Mayo Historical and Archaeological Society Journal (annual)
Mr. J. Garry, Editor, 26 Maple Drive, Greenhills, Drogheda, Co. Louth

Castlebar Parish Magazine (annual),
Mr. J. Mee, c/o Connaught Telegraph, Castlebar

Cathair na Mart (annual),
The Chairman, Westport Historical Society, Carrowholly, Westport, Co. Mayo

NOTE: If you have some expertise in both Irish Genealogy and basic web page contruction, and might be interested in taking over the further development of this county page or any of the GENUKI/Ireland county pages that are available for adoption, please take a look at the GENUKI Help Us page and then contact Richard White,

Edited by Brian Randell and last updated 08 July 2004 by Richard White

Hosted by Mythic Beasts Ltd.