GENUKI Home page
Ireland Ireland   Contents Contents   Table of Contents for this page Information related to
all of County Tyrone
  Towns and Parishes Towns and Parishes


"Tyrone, a county of Ireland, province of Ulster, bounded NE by Londonderry, E by lough Neagh, SE by Armagh, S by Monaghan, SW by Fermanagh, and W by Donegal. It is about 43 Irish m. long, and from 18 to 33 broad, and contains 35 parishes. A great portion of it is rough and mountainous; in many parts the soil is rich and fertile, and equally calculated for tillage or for pasture. Principal rivers, the Blackwater, Foyle, Mounterlouny, Drimna, Fentona, Owenreagh, Longfield, Derg, and Fin. The linen manufacture is in a most flourishing condition through the whole extent of the district. Pop. 259,691. Capital, Dungannon."
[From The New London Gazetteer (1826)]



Church Records

Description and Travel


Heritage Centre:
Return to top of page

Names, Geographical


From Fianna:
Bell: The Journal of the Stewartstown and District Local History Society (annual)
Mrs. J. Laverty, Castle Farm, Stewartstown, Co. Tyrone

Duiche Neill: Journal of the O'Neill County Historical Society (annual)
Mr. J.A. Downey, Woodhouse, Gort. Brantry Dungannon, Co. Tyrone

NOTE: If you have some expertise in both Irish Genealogy and basic web page contruction, and might be interested in taking over the further development of this county page or any of the GENUKI/Ireland county pages that are available for adoption, please take a look at the GENUKI Help Us page and then contact Richard White,

Edited by Brian Randell and last updated 25 July 2003 by Richard White

Hosted by Mythic Beasts Ltd.