We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

County Wicklow

Wicklow, a county of Ireland, province of Leinster, bounded N by Dublin, E by the Irish sea, S by Wexford and W by Kildare and Carlow, 32 m. long N to S, and 15 to 26 broad. (Irish.) Area, 311,600 Irish acres, divided into 58 parishes. Great part of this country is mountainous, with a mixture of rocks and bogs, so as to be ill adapted for cultivation; others are well wooded, and some of the valleys fertile. Chief rivers, the Liffey and Slaney. It sends 2 members to parliament. Pop. 115,162.
[From The New London Gazetteer (1826)]


Almost 100% of Wicklow's tombstone inscriptions have been transcribed and indexed.

Description and Travel


From Fianna:
  • Arklow Historical Society Journal (annual),
    Mr. J. Rees, 3 Meadow's Lane, Arklow, Co. Wicklow
  • Bray Historical Record (annual)
    Mr. J. Scannall, The Old Bray Society, 19 Hazelwood, Shanganagh Road,
    Shankill, Co. Dublin
  • West Wicklow Historical Society Journal (annual),
    Mr. D. McDonnell, Ballinglass, Co. Wicklow
We are looking for somebody who can help with the maintenance of this page, which currently has a status of Inactive - No maintenance is being performed. For more information about what helping us entails, look at our help wanted page. If you would like to consider helping us then please contact the GENUKI trustees.