This page - last edited 02 June 2008 Go to surnames listings page Go to contacts page
Below is the current list of enquiries
submitted in 2003 & 2004.
1998
list.
1997
list
1999
list
2000
list 2001
list
2002
list
2005
list Comments
page
These
enquiries are listed with latest entered at the
top
242
-
BROWN - I am seeking information
about James Brown who was a merchant in Cupar, Fife. It is believed
that he died in 1799, and he was a brother of Rev. John Brown , later
of Haddington, (born at Carpow, near Abernethy, Tayside, around 1724
and certainly long before 1733, when his father died) and author of
"John Brown's Bible". My family is descended from him on my father's
side through James Brown, farmer, and his wife, Catherine Lathangie,
married at Cults, Fife, 16 July, 1834. One of their children was Rev.
John Brown of Bervie. This James Brown must have been the grandson of
James Brown, Cupar merchant. I would also be very interested to learn
the location of Damside, where James Brown farmed. -
Georgeen
Barrass -
details
- Saanich, BC, Canada - 30 Dec 2004
241-
GILLIES FOTHERINGHAM - Archibald
Gillies and Janet Fotheringham had a son born in St. Andrews in 1798.
Archibald was from Dalavich, Loch Awe, Argyll. (Scots Origins state:
St Andrews, Fife Daniel son of Archibald Gilles Serjeant in the 2nd
Battalion of Bredalbane Fencibles & Janet Fotheringham his wife,
b 4th, bap 5th May 1798 by Dr Hill.
Serjeants McCowan & Manson
Witnesses.- Slàinte mhath,
Scott
Gillis -
details
- St. John's Newfoundland, Canada -11 Aug 2004
240
- ARTHUR
- Our ARTHUR family comes
from Auchermuchty. THOMAS ARTHUR (ARTHURE) b at 1722 m Janet ? (b abt
1723) Auchtermuchty, Fife. Died August 1785 in Collessie, Fife,
Scotland, 65 years old. Does anyone have any information on Janet?
Their Children: Alexander - born June 3, 1744; Thomas - born
March 22, 1746 - died March 25, 1747 - 1 year old.Helen - born June
25, 1749 - married Robert Barclay on April 4, 1770. James - born Oct
15, 1752 William - (my gggg grandfather) born January 4, 1756 - Died
June 4, 1820 in Collessie, buried June 4, in Luchnisc, Collessie,
Fife. Married: Helen Nellie White (Whit, Whyte) on May 12, 1749 in
Kilconquhar, Fife. Daughter of Thomas White (Whit, Whyte) and Isabell
Dinguall and Thomas - born Apr 2, 1758. Children of William and
Helen Nellie: Thomas: born 1780 Andrew: b 1791Janet: b 1796
George: b 1800 all born in Kilconquhar, Fife. Does anyone know who
Janet's parents were?
Diana
Pollmann -
details
- Quebec, Canada - 29 Jun 2004
239
-
BLYTH MACKIE MERCER WHYTE CHAPLAIN -
Re: David Mercer b 28th Dec 1815 md Ann Whyte 30th March 1838
Dunfermline; George Blythe Mercer b 21st May 1874 Aberdour md Ellen
Beveridge Chaplain b 10th August 1881 Ballingy md 18th August 1899
Kirkcaldy; Robert Mercer (d. 4th June 1896 Kirkcaldy) md Agnes
Cummings 8th Sept 1838 Dunfermline ; David Mercer b 28th Dec 1815 md
Ann Whyte 30th March 1838 Dunfermline Parish John Blythe md Catherine
Mackie 18th Nov 1837 Dunfermline. I have family trees for these
families that I am willing to share -
Linda
Temple - Rosyth, Fife 10 Apr 2004 -
details
238
-
DUFF SCOTLAND GAVIN -
Re: David Duff b. Kilspindie 1860 Private in 71st
Highlanders m. Sarah Eliza Gavin domestic servant 4th June 1886 at
Abbot Place Inverkeithing Fife. James Duff b. 1815 Aberdalgie soldier
m. Janet Scotland 9th April 1842, Dunfermline Finlay Duff b. 5th July
1778 md Alison Peter or Peters 24th Nov. 1798 Dunfermline. I have
family trees for these families that I am willing to share -
Linda
Temple - Rosyth, Fife 10 Apr 2004 -
details
236
-
MELVILLE MILLER - Helen Melville was named as one of two
nieces of Alexander Melville tenant in Kilmaron, and later of Cupar,
in his 1790 will as "relict of John Miller, smith, St Ford". I'd very
much like to make contact with descendants of this couple, to
exchange information. Sue
Pedersen - Sydney Australia - 30 Mar 2004 -
details.
235
- METHVEN SYMERS - Thomas Methven appears
to have been the son of John Methven & Giles Allen of St Andrews.
His brother George died 1765 in Marylebone, Middlesex, leaving a will
naming his brother Thomas & Thomas's wife Mary Symers. Other
siblings were Ann, David, Jean, Joseph & John Methven. Thomas
& Mary's son Robert Methven b 1742 married Euphan MELDRUM: their
son Robert was a writer in Cupar and Procurator Fiscal of Fife d
1844. I'd very much like to make contact with any Methven
connections. Sue Pedersen
- Sydney, Australia - 30 Mar 2004. -
details.
234
- MELVILLE TOD - Alexander of Peasehills
was the eldest son of Alexander Melville of Kilmaron & Elspeth
Swan; his eldest son George married Helen JACK and continued farming
at Peasehills, Balmerino until he died in 1847 - not known what
happened to George's family of 7.
Sue Pedersen - Sydney,
Australia - 30 Mar 2004 -
details.
233
- MELVILLE SWAN - Alexander's dau Mary was
bapt 1741 Cupar "by Mr Melville his brother". Church Minister?
Records of his daughter Elspeth b 1734 say she was from the family of
Andrew Melville of Baldovy, Forfarshire, the Scottish Reformer. Among
Alexander's descendants were a number of church ministers, including
his grandson Andrew b 1775 Minister of the Free Church Logie &
Gauldry, and Andrew's son Alexander b 1807, Minister of Falkirk. Does
anyone have earlier records for Alexander Melville of Kilmaron, or of
his (assumed) father Alexander Melville, also of Kilmaron, near
Cupar? Sue Pedersen -
Sydney, Australia - 30 Mar 2004 -
details.
232
- KIRK MELVILLE -
Euphan Melville was listed as one of two nieces of Alexander Melville
tenant in Kilmaron, and later of Cupar, in his 1790 will, as "relict
of David Kirk, smith at March of Carslogie". Any connections? -
Sue Pedersen - Sydney
Australia - 30 Mar 2004 -
details.
231
- HENDERSON DINGWELL CHRISTIE - Andrew was
the son of Alexander Henderson & Isobel DINGWELL / DANYELL
married 1684 Scoonie; his sister Margaret b.1695 Kennoway married
George CHRISTIE, tenant in Lochtyside. Would like to contact other
Scoonie Henderson researchers.
Sue Pedersen - Sydney,
Australia - 30 Mar 2004 -
details.
230
- GRAHAM CHRISTIE - Dr James Moore Graham
came to Cupar from Enniskillen, Ireland, 13 August 1814 ( his
birthday! ); became surgeon FifesMilitia, later in private practice
in Cupar "the Hunting Doctor... with an immense practice including
the principal families, and was also popular with the poor... instead
of accepting remuneration he actually gave money to purchase the
medicines he prescribed... to his dying day a whole band of
pensioners were in the habit of coming to his house for their weekly
allowance" [per obit. Fifeshire Journal 1865]. He and Mary Christie
had 8 children, several of whom emigrated. Like to contact
descendants of their eldest son Maj-General John Moore Graham
1828-1900 who married Eliza PATCH, 3 children. Colonel Thomas Everard
HUNGERFORD who later lived in Walmer, Kent, where John Graham
died. Sue Pedersen -
Sydney, Australia - 30 Mar 2004 -
details.
229
- FLEMING CHRISTIE - John FLEMING,
Minister of Flisk, later Professor of Natural History Aberdeen
University & New College, Edinburgh, d.1882. Their son Andrew
Fleming b 1822 Dep. Surgeon Bengal married Katherine Loftus GARNER, 6
children. Sue Pedersen -
Sydney, Australia - 30 Mar 2004 -
details.
228
- CHRISTIE GLASS - If anyone can throw any
light on Charles Dempster's ancestry, it would be greatly
appreciated. He was born c.1742, possibly abroad to an army family.
His son Cathcart Dempster b 1764 marr Mary GLASS 1790 St Andrews, and
their twins b.1799 served in India: Charles Dempster, a surgeon with
HEICS died 5 Aug.1822 in Patna, and Thomas Erskine Dempster, a
surgeon with Bengal Horse Artillery married Maria Christiana INNES at
Benares India 1825. Their dau Janet b. 1790 St Andrews married St
Andrews 1826 Professor George Lillie CRAIK of Queen's College
Belfast; dau Mary Ann b 1793 married Revd John FINDLAY of St Paul's
Parish, Perth. Sue
Pedersen - Sydney, Australia - 30 Mar 2004 -
details..
227
-
CHRISTIE HENDERSON MELVILLE - George,
the 2nd son of John Chrysty of Ores Miln obtained the "Tack for 19
years of the town and lands of Lochtyside" in 1712 following the
death of his elder brother James, who had signed a similar document
in 1705. These deeds, signed as "Leven", by John Chrystie, by each
son, and by the witnesses. There are other similar deeds still in
private hands. Are Christie descendants are willing to share? I'd
especially like to know whether these privately held deeds record the
start of the Tack for Ores Miln.Also a John Christie was the youngest
son of Andrew Christie, tenant in Pittencreithe, and Elspeth
Melville. John Christie & wife Mary Walker had several daughters,
and one son Peter b 1804 who farmed in Rhynd and Scotscraig until
1891. One of his descendants was Sheriff John Christie who died in
Cupar in 2002 . Sue
Pedersen - Sydney, Australia - 30 Mar 2004 -
details.
226
- CHRISTIE BRIDIE - Because pre-1700
Dysart burials are missing, I have been unable to find John's wife or
earlier Christie records. There are deeds around 1700 which name John
Chrysty of Oars Miln or Mill, Dysart, and his 2 eldest sons James
& George, tenants in Lochtyside, Markinch. Eldest son James
probably bapt. 1685 Kinglassie, with the younger children probably
born during the missing period of Markinch parish registers. In 1709
John Chrysty in Oars Miln was appointed curator with Thomas Chrysty
of Tilebreck as next of kin on the mother's side to James & John
Chrysty the underage sons of David Chrysty tenant in Gatesmilk /
Goatmilk, Kinglassie. There is a possible 1657 bapt for John in
Kinglassie registers, with brother Thomas bapt there 1666. John's 3rd
son Andrew b abt 1695 became the tenant in Orismill, marr Janet
BRIDIE 1721 Dysart; he died there, 1742. Is anyone else researching
these families? Sue
Pedersen - Sydney, Australia - 30 Mar 2004 -
details.
225 - CHRISTIE
BOUSIE - I'd very much like to make
contact with descendants of this couple, to exchange information. The
1842 administration of the effects of Mary Christie or BOUSIE, of
Abbey Cottage, St Andrews, the widow of farmer Alexander Christie,
names her "nearest of kin" as four daughters: Misses Jane, Melville,
Christian, and Jessie Christie. There were a number of bapts of
children for this couple in Dairsie and Leuchars [Jane wrongly
recorded as Janet b.1809 in the IGI], but no Melville, Christian or
Jessie. There were also entries for Mary b 1787, Elspeth b 1788,
Andrew b 1790, Margaret b 1791, a son b 1809, and John b 1807 (not
recorded in the decree). Sue
Pedersen - Sydney Australia - 30 Mar 2004 -
details.
224 - MacFARLANE GORDON
- Andrew married secondly Ann GORDON a widow; he had 4
children by his first wife, but only Helen b 1806 and Alexander b
1807 later Minister of Falkirk, survived. Alexander married Catherine
MacFARLANE and died in "Largs" [Fasti]: Largo? 1839. Were there were
descendants other than Andrew b.1839 Falkirk, Minister Free Church
Alva? Like to make contact with descendants.
Sue Pedersen - Sydney,
Australia - 30 Mar 2004 -
details.
223 -
AITKEN CHRISTIE DEMPSTER - I'd very
much like to make contact with descendants of this couple, to
exchange information, and to update my records. Jean (or Jane)
Christie was the eldest daughter (7th child) of Andrew Christie and
Margaret Dempster of Cupar. John Aitken was the son of Col. George
Aitken and Janet PUNTON of Cupar. Jean & John Aitken had ten
children - spread around the world: John Christie Aitken b.1821 lived
in Thornton, Vic. Australia, and in Christchurch, New Zealand,
married Fanny MACNAMARA dau of Dr Daniel Macnamara R.N. They had 8
children - lived in Calcutta, St Andrews, Fife and Kent, as well as
NZ. Another son of Jean & John was Robert Hope Moncreiff Aitken
b.1828 who was awarded a VC in India; their dau Margaret Jane b.1826
marr William HORSBRUGH, Cupar, Clerk of the Peace for Fife; dau Janet
Ponton b.1830 marr David JOHNSTONE of Croy, Dumbartonshire; their
youngest son James Home Rigg Aitken b.1832 of New Zealand marr Jessie
BOUCHIER dau of Col. Bouchier of Dublin, Ireland.
Sue Pedersen - Sydney
Australia - 30 Mar 2004 -
details.
220
- SHIELS BURRELL - William Shiels born
7 March 1815 in Markinch, Fife; he married Elizabeth (Betsy) Burrell
in about 1837/38 in Scotland. They came to Australia - Assisted
Shipping - to Sydney and Newcastle on the Agenoria
in 1849 with their children David, Isabella - and Fanny, born
at sea. Children born in Australia - Elizabeth and Henrietta. Wiliam
died in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia on 27 Nov 1868.
Sally
Douglas - Australia - 16 March 2004 -
details
219
- RAMSAY WISHART WILLIAM RAMSAY was
born Abt. 1787 in Largo, Fife, and died abt. 1850 in Fife. He married
JANET WILSON WISHART Dec 02, 1815 in Kilconquhar, dau of DAVID
WISHART & HANAH MITCHEL. Children of WILLIAM RAMSAY, blacksmith
and JANET WISHART are: . Hanah , b. Oct 17, 1816 ii. Mary b. Aug 16,
1818, . iii. John , b. July 20, 1820, d. March 05, 1883, iv. David,
b. June 02, 1822, v.vi twins , William, b. Oct 18, 1825 (male sibling
died near birth) , vii. Thomas, b. November 24, 1828, viii. Henry, b.
November 15, 1831, ix. Janet, b. August 08, 1834, x. twins Agnes, xi.
Margaret, b. Sept 24, 1836, - all Kilconquhar, Fife -
Jude
Ramsay - 27 Feb
2004 - California USA
-
details
218
- MALCOLM - The direct descendants
of David Malcolm are: MALCOLM, David, b:1659, Cupar, Fife, d: 1706.
spouse: MELVILLE, Elizabeth, m: 1682, Scotland. MALCOLM, Anne,
b:1642, Cupar, d: 1698. MALCOLM, John, b: Sept 1649, Cupar, , d: 24
Nov 1709. MALCOLM, Henry, b:165?, Cupar, d: (infant). MALCOLM,
Elizabeth, b:165?, Cupar, d: (infant). MALCOLM, William, b:1654,
Cupar, Captain of Dragoon Guards.
I am particularly interested in
tracing descendants of this younger William. -
Chris
Malcolm - 01 March 2004 - New
Zealand-
details
217
- SKINNER SMITH - Isabella Davidson
Skinner (b 11 May 1822) md John Fullerton Smith (b 31 Dec 1818) 24
Jul 1855 son of Capt John Smith. I have more information on
these families. Would like to connect with other descendants. I have
more information on these families. Thank you -
Peggy
Coxon - USA - 18 Feb 2004-
details
216
- BOGIE SKINNER DAVIDSON WATT
- Christian Bogie, b 24 Apr 1745
(twin of Janet) md William Skinner 12 Aug 1768 (b 1739) baker in
Kircaldy; his family may have some from
Balbirnie
or
Markinch.
William Skinner, jr, (b 9 Jun 1775 Kirkcaldy) married Isabell
Davidson (b 6 Apr 1786) . Isabell was the dau of Robert Davidson and
Jean Watt
of
Cullolo,
Aberdour, Fife. I have more
information on these families. Would like to connect with other
descendants. Thank you -
Peggy
Coxon - USA - 18 Feb 2004 -
details
215
- SPOWART FERGUSON -
Ann Spowart m James Ferguson in
Dunfermline on 3 June 1850. They had 8 children - 4 born on Scotland
& 4 born in Brisbane. Ann, (b 1860 & one of the 4 born in
Scotland) is my gg grandmother on my father's side. -
Keith
Jennings - Brisbane, Australia 08
Feb 2004 -
details
214
-
BROWNLEE
- I have found Andrew Brownlee's
father Alexander married in 1848, in Antrim, Ireland; he then
travelled to Scotland (Old Monkland) where his wife died; in his
second marriage he produced my g-grandfather Andrew Brownlee.
Alexander came from Antrim - I have his death cert, 1869, saying his
parents were Alexander Brownlee and Agnes Boyd. Can anyone give me a
lead? -
Caroline
Day - 06 Feb 2004 - Surrey, England
-
details
213
- LAING BRUCE COVENTRY
WHITE
- Alexander
Scott
b - 1799 Markinch married a Binny
Millar
b 1803 Markinch and were married in Beath 1818. Parents unknown.Henry
Robertson
b - 1807 Portmoak The son of Andrew
Robertson and Christian Coventry
married 1804 Portmoak. Christians
parents were David Coventry b - Orwell 1751 The son of Robert
Coventry & Elizabeth Whtye married Portmoak in 1749. David
Coventry married Isabel Laing who I think was the daughter of John
Laing
& Jannet
Bruce
married 1754 Portmoak. Henry
Robertson
married Janet Low b 1811 Flisk Fife
- to an Alexander Low
and a Margaret
Seath.
Henry & Janet were married in 1832 in Portmoak and their daughter
Margaret b 1833 Drumain, Leslie married David Scott b 1826. son of
Alex and Binny Scott (above). David & Margaret left Liverpool
with their young son Alexander Scott on
the
Childe Harold
arriving in Australia in 1853.
Daniel
Pianto - details - Australia - 6 Sep
2003
212
- MORRISON MORIES MORICE RITCHIE
-
David
Morrison b1762 Strathmiglo?,
coachman and Janet
Steedman of Portmoak b1765, marriage
not found in either Kinross or Fife. David died after the 1841 census
and Janet between 1841 and 1855. Their 8 children, all born in
Strathmiglo, were Rachel 1790, David 1792, Robert 1795, William 1798,
Isobel 1799, John 1802, Helen 1804 and Janet 1808. It is possible
that Isobel married James
Wills in 1825, John married
Margaret Stewart
1824 and Helen married
David
Ritchie 1829. Can anyone help? -
Bonnie
Curry - Sunshine Coast, QLD,
Australia -
details
- 17 Feb 2004, 20 Feb 2006
211
- STORER
STORRER - James STORER, storekeeper,
married Ann Moncrieff
Ritchie in Newburn 1857; I have
found 3 children: Helen 1858, John 1859 in Strathmiglo and Ann
Moncrieff 1862 died 1863 in Dysart, after that . . .nothing. No even
a sign in the 1881 UK census, so I believe they possibly emigrated. I
even tried US and Canadian censuses. -
Bonnie
Curry - Sunshine Coast, QLD,
Australia -
details
- 17 Feb 2004
210
- MITCHELL
-
Lawrence
Mitchell b1835 Pathead, Dysart d
1918 Dunfermline and wife Janet
Ritchie b1834 Strathmiglo, d1901
Dunfermline, to my knowledge had 3 children
Helen Morrison
Mitchell d1929 Dunfermline who
married James
Meiklejohn b1862 Saline,
Mary
Anderson
Mitchell
whom I have not been able to find and
Andrew
Mitchell who married an
Agnes
Muir. The two girls are believed to
have remained in Fife. I have been unable to find descendants. -
Bonnie
Curry - Sunshine Coast, QLD,
Australia -
details
- 17 Feb 2004
209
- GIBSON -
WATSON - Looking for parents or
brothers/sisters of both Peter
Gibson and
Jean Watson
married 20 June 1806 in Dunfermline
Fife. Children of the marriage Ann b 2 Mar 1808, John b 28 Jan 1810,
James b 23 Dec 1811, Jean b 30 May 1822. -
Tony
Gibson -
details
- 25 Nov 2003
208
- TROTTER - GUTHRIE
-
Walter
Trotter, b 27 Sept 1802; married 4
Feb. 1833; wife - Margaret
Guthrie, b. 1807-1811; Margaret
possibly of Orwell parish in Kinross county; children - John,
Jeanette, Ann, James Guthrie, Margaret, Patrick MacGregor Grant,
Alexander, and two other children - names unknown. Walter and
Margaret and four children died at sea 1847 while immigrating to
America. -
Rea
Trotter - USA -
details
- 27 Oct 2003
207
-
IZATT
- George Izatt
(born 1843 in Townhill, Dunfermline)
and Janet
Rennie (born 1842) married 16 May
1862. They had 10 children named as follows: Robert, Grace, David,
George, Sebastian, Janet, Sarah, Alexander, John and William all born
between 1863 and 1880.-
John
Izatt - Helensburgh, Clydeside,
Scotland -
details
- 22 Aug 2003
206
- SPEIRS SPEARS
-
Henry Speirs
Spears, b 7 Feb 1824, chr 6.4.1824;
brother probably Burridge
Purvis, b 27 May 1826, chr.
26.6.1826, both Kinghorn, Fife. Possibly sons of Alexander Speirs who
married Mary Purvis. Could have other child, Alexander, listed under
Spears, b 21.12.1828, chr. 16.2.1829, Kinghorn, Fife. First child,
Henry, married Margaret
McDonald and came to Australia on
HMS
Victory in 1849. -
Robyn Shaw - Australia -
details
- 03 Aug 2003
205
- ROBB LAWRIE
- David Robb's death certificate
says he was born in Scotland, his fathers name was also
David
Robb. On an IGI search I found David
Robb and Christian
Lawrie marriage in Dysart Fife,
1826. David died 1887 Geelong Victoria Australia and Christian died
1879 in nearby Essendon Victoria Australia. Seek info on parents.
Susan
Lowe -
Melbourne Australia -
details
- 26 Apr 2003
204
- HOWDEN PATERSON - Looking for
forbears of Jean
Howden, spouse of
David
Paterson parents of Catherine
Paterson d 1843 m Alexander
Pearson (b1770, d1853) of
Northcliff, Fife. I know that David Paterson was 'of Costerton' and
ran a bank in Edinburgh from 1803 to 1813 when it failed. He trained
in the KINNEAR's office at some point and became
an insurance
broker in the Old Assembly Close,
Edinburgh. Worked in Milne Square in 1785. Lived at 5 St Andrew
Street in 1796. -
James
Ingram - Clydeside Scotland -
details
- 21 Apr 2003
203
- PINK SPINKS - Charles Spinks
married, Sophia Cameron in Dundee, 1809; I cannot find a death record
of him. The surname was changed sometime after 1850 to Spinks.
Charles was in the 25th Regiment of
Foot in 1809; he lived in St Monance
Fife, had two children born 1809 and 1811. He was probably not born
in Scotland and ended up in Hampshire England. Enquiries (1980s) to
my parents in Kirkcaldy Fife, produced no result. -
Linda
Spink.- Montana USA -
details
- 28 Mar, 4,5 May 2003
202
- DUNCAN HOOD BISSET
- James Duncan (born, Nov., 1843, in
Abdie, Fife). Believe parents were
John Duncan
and
Margaret Walker
Bisset, possibly married Dec., 1842,
Monimail, Fife. James Duncan later
marries Mary MacNeill
Hood, emigrated to New Jersey, USA,
and had 6 sons and 6 daughters. I have the family tree in US for
branch of my grandmother Jamia (Mina
Duncan). My grandmother Jamia (born
in US), was the daughter of James
Bryce Duncan and
Mary MacNeill
Hood (born Scotland, Nov.&
Oct.1843); their first son Peter
Duncan b in Scotland abt 1878. James
and Mary emigrated to New Jersey, USA around 1879.
Sarah
Hamilton - USA. -
details
-17 Feb 2003
201
- GRAINGER GALL A marriage between
John Grainger
and
Christina
Gall occurred sometime 1800 and
1825. They are the parents of John GRAINGER born 30 Jul 1826 in
Cupar, Fife, Scotland. The birth is shown on the IGI without any
parents.
Ian
Butterworth
-
Melbourne, Australia -
details
- 11 Feb 2003
Comments,
submissions and suggestions welcome -
Hugh
Reekie
h.reekie@ieee.org