Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Archives in Angus

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Archives in Angus

Page Index

Public Libraries

There are fourteen full time public libraries in Dundee itself,
plus seven full time
and four part time libraries throughout Angus County.
DUNDEE City ANGUS County, Full Time
Dundee Central [Details] Arbroath [Details]
Ardler [Details] Brechin [Details]
Arthurstone [Details] Carnoustie [Details]
Blackness [Details] Forfar [Details]
Broughty Ferry [Details] Kirriemuir [Details]
Charleston [Details] Monifieth [Details]
Coldside [Details] Montrose [Details]
Douglas [Details] ANGUS County, Part Time
Fintry [Details]
Hub [Details]
Kirkton [Details] Edzell [Details]
Lochee [Details] Friockheim [Details]
Menzieshill [Details] Letham [Details]
Whitfield [Details] Newtyle [Details]
 

They have resources listed at all libraries for the historical or genealogical researcher, except that the part time libraries do not physically carry the same resources. These can, however, be accessed on request.

Clicking on the library name will, in the case of Dundee Central & the full time County libraries, take you to either their history or genealogical sections. In the case of the Dundee Community libraries, to their main web page. In the case of the part time libraries, to a page which will give you details of the when and where of accessing the libraries - these last four do not have websites of their own.

Collections are catalogued and cross-indexed in the following manner…

  • Title
  • Title keyword
  • Author
  • Subject

There are a further 17 sub-divisions of cross-indexing (accessible via an advanced search). These further indices being mainly concerned with various media types, musical and impaired ability definitions.

Clicking on [Details] will provide you with address, telephone number and eMail contacts.

Dundee Central

Address
Central Library, The Wellgate, Dundee, DD1 1DB

Telelephone01382 431500

eMail central.library@dundeecity.gov.uk

Arbroath

Address
Henry Logan, Arbroath Library, Hill Terrace, Arbroath, DD11 1AH

Telelephone 01241 872248

eMail arbroath.library@angus.gov.uk

Ardler

Address
Turnberry Avenue, Dundee DD2 3TP

Telelephone 01382 436366

eMail ardler.library@dundeecity.gov.uk

Brechin

Address
Gavin Hunter, Brechin Library, 10 St Ninian's Square, Brechin, DD9 7AA

Telelephone 01356 622687

eMail brechin.library@angus.gov.uk

Arthurstone

Address
Arthurstone Terrace, Dundee, DD4 6RT

Telelephone 01382 438881

eMail arthurstone.library@dundeecity.gov.uk

Carnoustie

Address
Alasdair Sutherland, Carnoustie Library, 21 High Street, Carnoustie, DD7 6AN

Telelephone 01241 859620

eMail carnoustie.library@angus.gov.uk

Blackness

Address
225 Perth Road, Dundee, DD2 1EJ

Telelephone 01382 435936

eMail blackness.library@dundeecity.gov.uk

Forfar

Address
Fiona Dakers, Forfar Library, 50/56 West High Street, Forfar, DD8 1BA

Telelephone 01307 466071

eMail forfar.library@angus.gov.uk

Broughty

Address
Queen Street, Broughty Ferry, Dundee, DD5 2HN

Telelephone 01382 436919

eMail broughty.library@dundeecity.gov.uk

Kirriemuir

Address
Fiona Dakers, Kirriemuir Library, 28/30 Reform Street, Kirriemuir, DD8 4BS

Telelephone 01575 572357

eMail kirriemuir.library@angus.gov.uk

Charleston

Address
60 Craigowan Road, Dundee, DD2 4NL

Telelephone 01382 436639

eMail charleston.library@dundeecity.gov.uk

Monifieth

Address
Hazel Cook, Monifieth Library, 48/50 High Street, Monifieth, DD5 4AE

eMail monifieth.library@angus.gov.uk

Coldside

Address
150 Strathmartine Road, Dundee, DD3 7SE

Telelephone 01382 432849

eMail coldside.library@dundeecity.gov.uk

Montrose

Address
Christine Sharp, Montrose Library, 214 High Street, Montrose, DD10 8PH

Telelephone 01674 673256

eMail montrose.library@angus.gov.uk

Douglas

Address
Balmoral Avenue, Dundee, DD4 8SD

Telelephone 01382 436915

eMail douglas.library@dundeecity.gov.uk

Fintry

Address
1 Findcastle Street, Dundee, DD4 9EW

Telelephone 01382 432560

eMail fintry.library@dundeecity.gov.uk

Hub

Address
171 Pitkerro Road, Dundee, DD4 8ES

Telelephone 01382 438648

eMail hub.library@dundeecity.gov.uk

Kirkton

Address
Derwent Avenue, Dundee, DD3 0AX

Telelephone 01382 436326

eMail kirkton.library@dundeecity.gov.uk

Edzell

Edzell Library is currently closed.

Lochee

Address
47-49 High Street, Lochee, Dundee, DD2 4TX

Telelephone 01382 431835

eMail lochee.library@dundeecity.gov.uk

Friockheim

Address
Friockheim Library (part-time, Friockheim Primary School, Friockheim DD11 4XB

Telelephone 01241 829085

Menzieshill

Address
Orleans Place, Menzieshill, Dundee, DD2 4BH

Telelephone 01382 432945

eMail menzieshill.library@dundeecity.gov.uk

Letham

Letham Library is currently closed.

Whitfield

Address
Whitfield Drive, Dundee, DD4 0DX

Telelephone 01382 432561

eMail whitfield.library@dundeecity.gov.uk

Newtyle

Newtyle Library is currently closed.

Other Libraries, Archives and Repositories

  • Angus Archives

    Opening Hours: Monday to Friday, 10:00am to 4:00pm. Closed on public holidays.
    Address: Angus Archives, Hunter Library, Restenneth Priory, Forfar, DD8 2SZ.
    Telephone: 01307 468644
    Email: angus.archives@angus.gov.uk

  • Dundee City Archive and Record Centre

    Opening Hours: Monday to Friday 9:15am to 1:00pm and 2:00pm to 4:45pm by appointment.
    Address: Archive Centre, Support Services, 21 City Square, Dundee, DD1 3BY
    Telephone: 01382 434494
    Email: archives@dundeecity.gov.uk

  • Dundee Registrars of Births, Deaths & Marriages

    Opening Hours: Monday to Friday, 8:45am to 4:45pm. Saturday Morning, 9:30am to 10:30am by appointment only
    Address: Registrar of Births, Deaths and Marriages, 89 Commercial Street, Dundee, DD1 2AF
    Telephone: 01382 435222
    Email: registrars@dundeecity.gov.uk

  • Dundee University Archives

    Opening Hours: Monday to Friday 9:00am to 5:00pm except on Thursday, which is closed to readers
    (Hours do actually vary but these can be considered as a minimum during term-time)
    Address: Archive Services, University of Dundee, Dundee, DD1 4HN
    Telephone: 01382-384095
    Email: XXX

  • Dundee University Library

    Opening Hours: Monday to Friday, 9:00am to 10:00pm; Saturday 10:00am to 8:00pm; Sunday 10:00am to 10:00pm
    (Hours do actually vary but these can be considered as a minimum during term-time)
    Address: Main Library address as for Archives above. However, there are various libraries sites, to see click HERE
    Telephone: 01382 - 384087
    Email: library@dundee.ac.uk

  • McManus Galleries

    Opening Hours: The building is currently closed to the public. Prior to closure, Monday to Saturday 10:30am to 5:00pm, Sunday 12:30 to 4:00pm, they are currently under review.
    Address: McManus Galleries, Albert Square, Dundee, DD1 1DA
    Telephone: 01328 432350
    Email: mcmanus.galleries@dundeecity.gov.uk

  • Meffan Museum & Gallery, Forfar

    Opening Hours: Monday to Saturday 10:00am to 17:00pm all year except Christmas, New Year and Easter
    Address: Forfar Museum, 20 West High Street, Forfar, DD8 1BB
    Telephone: 01307 464123
    Email: the.meffan@angus.gov.uk

  • Montrose Museum

    Opening Hours: Monday to Saturday, 10:00am to 17:00pm all year except Christmas, New Year and Easter
    Address: Montrose Museum, Panmure Place, Montrose, DD10 8HE
    Telephone: 01674 673232
    Email: montrose.museum@angus.gov.uk

  • Perth & Kinross Archive (for Invergowrie and Longforgan)

    Opening Hours: 9.30 am to 5pm, Monday to Friday, all year except Christmas, New Year and Easter
    Address: AK Bell Library, York Place, Perth, PH2 8EP
    Telephone: 01738 477012
    Email: archives@pkc.gov.uk

  • The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints Family History Centre, Dundee

    Address: Family History Centre, Bingham Terrace, Dundee DD4 7HH
    Telephone: 01382 451247

  • Routes to your Roots

    Contact details as for Dundee Central Library

  • Signal Tower Museum, Arbroath

    Opening Hours: Monday to Saturday 10:00am to 17:00pm all year except Christmas, New Year and Easter. Also open Sundays 14:00pm to 17:00pm July/August
    Address: Signal Tower Museum, Ladyloan, Arbroath, DD11 1TU
    Telephone: 01241 875598
    Email: signal.tower@angus.gov.uk

  • County Council records

  • County Constabulary records

    Angus County Police Committee minutes 1839-1890, are in Angus Archives
    Some records of Angus County Constabulary are held in Tayside Police Museum.

  • Valuation Rolls

    Assessors' rolls for Angus for the period 1855 to 1989 are held by the National Records of Scotland and also (with some gaps) by Angus Archives and by Dundee City Archives

  • Medical Officer of Health Reports

    Annual reports of the Medical Officer of Health for the County of Angus are held, for the period 1891-1972, by the National Records of Scotland

  • Sheriffdoms

    Historical records of sheriff courts pass to the National Records of Scotland. For further details go to the National Records of Scotland website or see:

    • Cecil Sinclair, Tracing Scottish Local History (HMSO, 1994)
    • Cecil Sinclair, Tracing Your Scottish Ancestors (HMSO, 1990)

    The following sheriff courts operated in Angus:

    • Forfar
    • Dundee
    • Arbroath
  • Justice of the Peace Court Records

    JP records for Angus are held by Dundee City Archives

  • Register of Sasines and Sasine abridgements

    Registers of sasines for Angus are held by the National Records of Scotland (RS.33-35)
    Sasine abridgements for Angus, 1781-1948, are held by the National Records of Scotland
    Abridgements for 1887-1984 (with some gaps) are held by Angus Archives and also by Dundee City Archives
    (Sasine - Scotland, Seisin - England
    An Instrument of Sasine (SAY-zeen) is a Scottish legal record of a transfer of land or rights to land. It has become of little legal importance owing to modern legislation
    For a more comprehensive definition, see Explanation of Sasine)

  • Other Sources External to Angus

    SCAN Home
    Over the next two years (as from 2006) the SCottish Archive Network Website (SCAN) website through its Online Catalogues and Knowledge Base will become the definitive guide to the Location of historical records relating to places in Scotland.
    At present the best online guides to the Location of historical records are: