Open a form to report problems or contribute information
We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.
Scotland Archives & Libraries
- National Records of Scotland - Civil registration records, census returns, pre-1855 Church of Scotland parish registers, wills and testaments, non-conformist church records, kirk session records, legal and court records, estate records, land records, maps and plans etc. See the relevant sections on the Scotland page for more details.
- The General Register Office for Scotland - see the National Records of Scotland.
- The Scottish Record Office - see the National Records of Scotland.
- The National Archives of Scotland - see the National Records of Scotland.
- The Scottish Register Office - see the National Records of Scotland.
- General Register House - see the National Records of Scotland.
- New Register House - see the National Records of Scotland.
- Order Certificates from the National Records of Scotland.
- ScotlandsPeople One of the largest online sources of original genealogical information. If you are researching UK genealogy, your Scottish ancestry or building your Scottish family tree, there are almost 90 million records to look through. Visit the ScotlandsPeople Centre in central Edinburgh.
- National Library of Scotland - extensive collection of books, manuscripts and maps.
- ScotlandsPlaces Search across three national databases to access historical resources relating to places throughout Scotland.
- Registers of Scotland deals with modern registration of land and property ownership.
- Scottish Genealogy Society Library - large collection of family history material (records, books, family histories, monumental inscription listings etc.) relating to Scotland.
- The Scottish Record Society (SRS) has long been a valuable resource for genealogists and historians. The list of publications includes indexes to parish registers of baptisms and marriages (the OPRs that are available through ScotlandsPeople), transcripts of rare material such as apprentice and burgess rolls, as well as indispensable reference works. The SRS is now collaborating with TannerRitchie Publishing to digitise many of its titles and make them available for purchase online. The list of titles can also be found on the SRS website.
- Scottish Screen has online film clips from some of the 20,000 reels of documentary, newsreel and educational film in the archive. In July 2010 this was superseded by Creative Scotland. See also the Scottish Screen Archive at the National Library of Scotland, which is easier to search.
- The Scottish Screen Archive is Scotland's national moving images collection. It preserves over 100 years of Scottish history on film and video.
- National Register of Archives - survey of records in public and private hands. Find records from The National Archives and over 2,500 archives across the UK.
- SCAN (Scottish Archive Network) Internet access to the written history of Scotland.
- SCRAN (Scottish Cultural Resources Access Network) is a Millennium Project to digitise selected parts of collections throughout Scotland, thus building a fully searchable online resource base.
- Scottish Collections Network (SCONE) provides descriptions of collections of all kinds held in libraries, museums, and archives in Scotland, as well as collections about Scottish topics held elsewhere.
- Search for LDS Family History Centres in Scotland provided by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints.