Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Foulden

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Foulden

"FOULDEN, a parish in the eastern part of the district of Merse, Berwickshire. It is of nearly a square form, 2¼ miles each way; and is bounded by the parishes of Ayton, Mordington, Hutton, and Chirnside. Its church is nearly equally distant from the towns of Ayton, Chirnside, and Berwick; and the last of these is the post-town. The surface rises in a gently inclined plane from south to north, and terminates in a ridge of heights."
From the Imperial Gazetteer of Scotland, edited by John Marius Wilson, 1868.

Cemeteries

The Borders Family History Society has published a booklet of monumental inscriptions for Foulden and Mordington.

Nigel Hardie has transcribed and published parish of Foulden burials for 1817-1854.

Pre-1855 inscriptions for the parish are contained in the Scottish Genealogy Society's original publication of Pre-1855 Tombstone Inscriptions in Berwickshire (long out of print) but are also in the first volume of a new edition of these pre-1855 Berwickshire monumental inscriptions.

Census

Graham and Emma Maxwell have transcribed and indexed the 1841, 1851 and 1861 census returns for this parish.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Foulden area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church Records

The parish church (Church of Scotland) has registers dating from 1682. Old Parish Registers (before 1855) are held in the National Records of Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world. Later parish registers (after 1855) are often held in the National Records of Scotland as are any records of non-conformist churches in the area (often unfilmed and unindexed, and only available there).

Civil Registration

Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths began in Scotland on 1st January 1855. For further details of this see the National Records of Scotland website.

Description and Travel

For a relatively recent account see Jean Greenland's article "A walk around Foulden in the Thirties & Forties" published in the October 1996 edition of the Borders Family History Society magazine.

You can see pictures of Foulden which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Foulden has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Maps

Ordnance Survey maps covering Foulden include:

  • Landranger 67: Duns, Dunbar & Eyemouth area - scale 1:50000, or 1.25inch:1mile, or 2cm:1km
  • Pathfinder 438: Berwick-upon-Tweed - scale 1:25000, or 2.5inch:1mile, or 4cm:1km

Foulden is also covered by an old Victorian one-inch to the mile Ordnance Survey map published by Caledonian Maps. The relevant sheet is sheet number 34 "Eyemouth" which also includes Burnmouth, Chirnside, Cockburnspath, Coldingham, Edrom, Foulden, Grantshouse, Preston and St Abb's Head.

The National Records of Scotland holds the following as part of its collection of maps and plans:

  • early 19th century: Plan of Foulden Deans. Scale 1:3600. Size 44x57cm. Grid (map) reference NT9355. NRS reference RHP.3510
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NT922555 (Lat/Lon: 55.792776, -2.125959), Foulden which are provided by:

Population

Here are some figures showing the parish's population through time:

  • 1755 - 465
  • 1793 - 344
  • 1801 - 393
  • 1811 - 368
  • 1821 - 396
  • 1831 - 535
  • 1861 - 431