We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Hutton

"HUTTON, a parish, containing the post-office villages of Hutton and Paxton, on the south-east border of Berwickshire. It is bounded by the liberties of Berwick, by England, and by the parishes of Ladykirk, Whitsome, Edrom, Chirnside, Foulden, and Mordington."
From the Imperial Gazetteer of Scotland, edited by John Marius Wilson, 1868.

Bibliography

Notes on Hutton parish by David S. Leslie was published at Berwick-upon-Tweed in 1934.

Cemeteries

Pre-1855 inscriptions for the parish are contained in the Scottish Genealogy Society's volume of Berwickshire Monumental Inscriptions (Pre-1855).

Census

Graham and Emma Maxwell have transcribed and indexed the 1841, 1851 and 1861 census returns for this parish.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Hutton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

The following quotation comes from the Imperial Gazetteer of Scotland, edited by John Marius Wilson and published in 1868. This reference was found in volume II, p.100:

"The present parish comprehends the ancient parish of Hutton and Fishwick. Hutton, signifying 'wood-town' - was the northern district; and Fishwick - or 'the fishing hamlet' - was the district on the south and along the Tweed"

The Parish of Hutton, Paxton and Fishwick compiled by Hutton Local History Project was published in 1988.

Church Records

The parish church (Church of Scotland) has registers dating from 1700. Old Parish Registers (before 1855) are held in the National Records of Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world. Later parish registers (after 1855) are often held in the National Records of Scotland as are any records of non-conformist churches in the area (often unfilmed and unindexed, and only available there).

The parish registers available worldwide on microfilm include some kirk session records:

  • In part 745/1: minutes for 1700-1730 and accounts for 1730-1767
  • In part 745/2: accounts for 1767-1786
  • In part 745/3: accounts for 1798-1819
  • In part 745/4: accounts for 1820-1854

More information on kirk sessions and their records can be found in the Church Records section of the Berwickshire page.

Civil Registration

Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths began in Scotland on 1st January 1855. For further details of this see the National Records of Scotland website.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Hutton which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Hutton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Maps

The National Records of Scotland holds the following as part of its collection of maps and plans:

  • before 1828: Estate plan of Broadmeadows showing names of adjacent lands and owners. Scale 1:3200. Size 62x124cm. Grid (map) reference NT9053. NRS reference RHP.3598
  • 1828: Plan for dividing the Superiority of the estate of Broadmeadows. Scale 1:3200. Size 91x118cm. Grid (map) reference NT9054. NRS reference RHP.3659
  • 1918: Plan of Broadmeadows Estate. Scale 1:10560. Size 47x64cm. Grid (map) reference NU9053. NRS reference RHP.4408/2
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NT908538 (Lat/Lon: 55.777476, -2.148229), Hutton which are provided by:

Population

Here are some figures showing the parish's population through time:

  • 1755 - 751
  • 1801 - 955
  • 1811 - 1030
  • 1821 - 1118
  • 1831 - 1096
  • 1861 - 1067