GENUKI Home page
Up Berwickshire Contents Contents

Hutton

View a Map of the Area.
"HUTTON, a parish, containing the post-office villages of Hutton and Paxton, on the south-east border of Berwickshire. It is bounded by the liberties of Berwick, by England, and by the parishes of Ladykirk, Whitsome, Edrom, Chirnside, Foulden, and Mordington."
from the Imperial Gazetteer of Scotland, edited by John Marius Wilson, 1868.

Bibliography

Notes on Hutton parish by David S. Leslie was published at Berwick-upon-Tweed in 1934.

Cemeteries

Pre-1855 inscriptions for the parish are contained in the Scottish Genealogy Society's volume of Berwickshire Monumental Inscriptions (Pre-1855).

Census

Graham and Emma Maxwell have transcribed and indexed the 1841, 1851 and 1861 census returns for this parish.

Church History

The following quotation comes from the Imperial Gazetteer of Scotland, edited by John Marius Wilson and published in 1868. This reference was found in volume II, p.100:

"The present parish comprehends the ancient parish of Hutton and Fishwick. Hutton, signifying 'wood-town' - was the northern district; and Fishwick - or 'the fishing hamlet' - was the district on the south and along the Tweed"

The Parish of Hutton, Paxton and Fishwick compiled by Hutton Local History Project was published in 1988.

Church Records

The parish church (Church of Scotland) has registers dating from 1700. Old Parish Registers (before 1855) are held in the General Register Office for Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world. Later parish registers (after 1855) are often held in the National Archives of Scotland as are any records of non-conformist churches in the area (often unfilmed and unindexed, and only available there).

The parish registers available worldwide on microfilm include some kirk session records:

More information on kirk sessions and their records can be found in the Church Records section of the Berwickshire page.

Civil Registration

Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths began in Scotland on 1st January 1855. For further details of this see the General Register Office for Scotland website.

Maps

The National Archives of Scotland holds the following as part of its collection of maps and plans:

Population

Here are some figures showing the parish's population through time:

Find help, report problems, and contribute information.


Page created by Vivienne S Dunstan.
Last updated: 9th September 2011

Copyright © GENUKI and Contributors 1995-2014
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the charitable trust GENUKI.