Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Mordington

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Mordington

"MORDINGTON, a parish in the extreme east of the coast of Berwickshire ... The parish is bounded by the German ocean, the liberties of Berwick, and the parishes of Hutton, Foulden, and Ayton ...The present parish of Mordington comprehends the ancient parishes of Mordington and Lamberton ... The ancient Mordington was very small, comprising less than half of the united parish."
From the Imperial Gazetteer of Scotland, edited by John Marius Wilson, 1868.

Census

Graham and Emma Maxwell have transcribed and indexed the 1841, 1851 and 1861 census returns for this parish.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Mordington area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

Mordington parish contains the old parish of Lamberton and a 19th century history of that parish can be read online.

Church Records

The parish church (Church of Scotland) has registers dating from 1721. Old Parish Registers (before 1855) are held in the National Records of Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world. Later parish registers (after 1855) are often held in the National Records of Scotland as are any records of non-conformist churches in the area (often unfilmed and unindexed, and only available there).

The parish registers available worldwide on microfilm include kirk session accounts for the years 1744-1767 (in part 752/1 of the microfilm). More information on kirk sessions and their records can be found in the Church Records section of the Berwickshire page.

Lamberton Toll in this parish was often a destination for runaway marriages (for more information on these runaway marriages see the Church Records section of the Berwickshire page). Indexes of some of the marriages at Lamberton Toll have been published:

  • Lamberton Toll Marriages 1804-1816 & 1849-1855 on microfiche by Original Indexes
  • Irregular Border Marriages, vol.1 - Lamberton Toll 1833-1849 by A.Brack. Available for example from the Scottish Genealogy Society

See also The story of Lamberton Toll: the Gretna of the East by Alexander C.A. Stevens, published at Berwick-on-Tweed in 1933 (52 pages).

Civil Registration

Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths began in Scotland on 1st January 1855. For further details of this see the National Records of Scotland website.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Mordington which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Mordington has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Mordington to another place.

Maps

Ordnance Survey maps covering Mordington include:

  • Landranger 74: Kelso & surrounding area - scale 1:50000, or 1.25inch:1mile, or 2cm:1km
  • Pathfinder 438: Berwick-upon-Tweed - scale 1:25000, or 2.5inch:1mile, or 4cm:1km

Mordington is also covered by an old Victorian one-inch to the mile Ordnance Survey map published by Caledonian Maps. The relevant sheet is sheet number 34 "Eyemouth" which also includes Burnmouth, Chirnside, Cockburnspath, Coldingham, Edrom, Foulden, Grantshouse, Preston and St Abb's Head.

The National Records of Scotland holds the following as part of its collection of maps and plans:

  • 1796: Plan of Edrington estate. Scale 1:5500. Size 62x50cm. Grid (map) reference NT9454. NRS reference RHP.3566
  • 1847: Part of the estate of Lamberton intersected by the railway. Scale 1:600. Size 296x66cm. Grid (map) reference NT9659. NRS reference RHP.795/4
  • 1849: Railway plan showing line through Lamberton estate. Scale 1:2400. Size 160x40cm. Grid (map) reference NT9659. NRS reference RHP.795/1-3
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NT949563 (Lat/Lon: 55.800001, -2.082913), Mordington which are provided by:

Population

Here are some figures showing the parish's population through time:

  • 1755 - 181
  • 1801 - 330
  • 1811 - 275
  • 1821 - 302
  • 1831 - 301
  • 1861 - 377