Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Swinton

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Swinton

"SWINTON, a parish ,containing a post-office village of its own name, in the Merse district of Berwickshire. It is bounded by Fogo, Edrom, Whitsome, Ladykirk, Coldstream, and Eccles ... The present parish of Swinton comprehends the ancient parishes of Swinton and Simprin, which were united in 1761."
From the Imperial Gazetteer of Scotland, edited by John Marius Wilson, 1868.

Bibliography

Two articles describing the history of Simprim parish (not Swinton) may be found in past transactions of the Berwickshire Naturalists' Club. Both are written by R.C. Wood. The first article, "Simprim in the Merse" appears in Volume 43 (part 1 - 1984) pages 17-24. The second (follow-up) article, "Simprim in the Merse: Part II - The Session Records 1699 to 1761" was printed in Volume 44 (part 3 - 1989) pages 142-146.

Census

Graham and Emma Maxwell have transcribed and indexed the 1841, 1851 and 1861 census returns for this parish.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Swinton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church Records

The parish church (Church of Scotland) has registers dating from 1700. Old Parish Registers (before 1855) are held in the National Records of Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world. Later parish registers (after 1855) are often held in the National Records of Scotland as are any records of non-conformist churches in the area (often unfilmed and unindexed, and only available there).

The Church of Scotland records for this parish held at the National Records of Scotland (NRS reference CH2/346) include 1 leaf of baptisms in the years 1668-1674.

The parish registers available worldwide on microfilm include kirk session minutes and accounts for Swinton for the years 1706-1719 (in part 755/1) and accounts for Swinton and Simprim for the years 1776-1800. More information on kirk sessions and their records can be found in the Church Records section of the Berwickshire page.

The presence of non-conformist churches in the parish is revealed by Rutherfurd's Southern Counties Register and Directory which lists the following in the year 1866:

  • Free Church

There may have been other non-conformist churches at different times.

Civil Registration

Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths began in Scotland on 1st January 1855. For further details of this see the National Records of Scotland website.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Swinton which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Swinton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Swinton to another place.

Maps

Ordnance Survey maps covering Swinton and Simprim include:

  • Landranger 74: Kelso & surrounding area - scale 1:50000, or 1.25inch:1mile, or 2cm:1km
  • Pathfinder 436: Duns & Longformacus - scale 1:25000, or 2.5inch:1mile, or 4cm:1km

The National Records of Scotland holds the following as part of its collection of maps and plans:

  • circa 1780: Plan of part of road between Swinton and River Tweed. Scale 1:5800. Size 21x15cm. Grid (map) reference NT8545. NRS reference RHP.645
  • 1884: Plan of estate of Swinton, including names of adjacent lands and owners. Scale 1:4800. Size 85x57cm. Grid (map) reference NT8147. NRS reference RHP.3352
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NT836474 (Lat/Lon: 55.719779, -2.262625), Swinton which are provided by:

Population

Here are some figures showing the population through time (for Swinton+Simprim):

  • 1755 - 494
  • 1791 - 898
  • 1801 - 875
  • 1811 - 866
  • 1821 - 919
  • 1831 - 971
  • 1861 - 964

There was a noticable increase in population between Dr Webster's survey of 1755 and the survey undertaken by the parish minister in 1791 as part of Sir John Sinclair's Statistical Account of Scotland. Rev. George Cupples explained the increase in population as follows:

"The increase is to be ascribed entirely to Lord Swinton's judicious attention to improve and enlarge his village of Swinton, partly by perpetual feus, and partly by leases of 999 years ... it is inconceivable how many of the necessaries of house-keeping, and how many conveniencies can be now found here, which 25 years ago the inhabitants had to send many miles for."
From the Statistical Account of Scotland compiled by Sir John Sinclair