Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Cumbraes

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Cumbraes

"CUMBRAY, a parish in the district and county of Bute, Scotland. It comprises the islands of Great and Little Cumbray, and contains the town of Millport and the village of Newton. The two islands lie in a line, and the larger is to the N. of the smaller. They are situated in the Firth of Clyde, between the island of Bute and the coast of Ayrshire. The total, area of the parish is 5,000 acres, of which 3,000 are arable. The landowners are the Earl of Glasgow and the Marquis of Bute. This parish is in the presbytery of Greenock and synod of Glasgow and Ayr, and in the patronage of the Earl of Glasgow. The stipend of the minister is £159. There are Free and Episcopalian churches, and a Baptist chapel; also an Episcopalian collegiate church, built in 1851, near the Priory, a seat of the Earl of Glasgow, and founded for a provost, a canon, and five honorary canons."

Description(s) from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868)

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Cumbraes area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church Records

The parish church records are held in the General Register Office for Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world.

Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for the Cumbraes parish span the following years:

Births or Baptisms ~ 1730-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1782-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ no records

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Cumbraes which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Cumbraes has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NS160550 (Lat/Lon: 55.753330, -4.933597), Cumbraes which are provided by: