Report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Kilbride

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.


"KILBRIDE, parish comprising Holy Island and most of east side of Arran Island, Buteshire. It contains the post office hamlets or villages of Lochranza, Corrie, Brodick, and Lamlash; and it measures about 20 miles by fully 4½, and comprises 38,985 acres. Real property in 1880-81, £9392. Pop., quoad civilia, 2176; quoad sacra, 1160. Chief features are Goatfell, Glensannox, Glenrosa, Glensherrig, Glencloy, Brodick, Lamlash, Holy Island, and Lochranza, and have been separately noticed. The churches are 2 Established, 2 Free, and 1 Congregational. There are 6 schools for 436 scholars, and 1 of them for 100 is new."

From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.


You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Kilbride area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church Records

The parish church records are held in the General Register Office for Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world.

Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Kilbride parish span the following years:

Births or Baptisms ~ 1723 - 1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1723 - 1854
Deaths or Burials ~ no records

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Kilbride which are provided by:


Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Kilbride has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.


You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NS031322 (Lat/Lon: 55.543694, -5.122490), Kilbride which are provided by: