We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Kilmory

"KILMORIE, parish, comprehending Pladda Island, and south end and west side of Arran Island, Buteshire. It has in vicinity of Lag a post office designated of Arran Island, a parochial church, a Free church, and a public school with about 81 scholars. Its length is 24 miles; its greatest breadth 8¾ miles; and its area 67,099 acres. Real property in 1880-81, £10,765. Pop. 2574. The coast line in Arran extends from Glenashdale to mouth of Loch Ranza; and its entire surface is described in the articles on Arran and Pladda. Free churches are at Shisken and Loch Ranza. There are 7 schools for 516 scholars, and 3 of them for 230 are new."

From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Kilmory area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church Records

The parish church records are held in the General Register Office for Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world.

Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Kilmory parish span the following years:

Births or Baptisms ~ 1701-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1701-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ no records

Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Lochranza span the following years:

Births or Baptisms ~ 1732-1846
Marriages or Banns ~ 1802-1846
Deaths or Burials ~ no records

Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Shiskin span the following years:

Births or Baptisms ~ 1785-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1785-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ no records

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Kilmory which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Kilmory has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NR960215 (Lat/Lon: 55.444784, -5.226965), Kilmory which are provided by:
We are looking for somebody who can help with the maintenance of this page, which currently has a status of Care and maintenance - The section has a maintainer assigned who is correcting broken links, and staying in touch with the GENUKI system administrator and Trustees but is not active in updating the section's web pages. For more information about what helping us entails, look at our help wanted page. If you would like to consider helping us then please contact David McFarlane.