Hide
Kilmory
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"KILMORIE, parish, comprehending Pladda Island, and south end and west side of Arran Island, Buteshire. It has in vicinity of Lag a post office designated of Arran Island, a parochial church, a Free church, and a public school with about 81 scholars. Its length is 24 miles; its greatest breadth 8¾ miles; and its area 67,099 acres. Real property in 1880-81, £10,765. Pop. 2574. The coast line in Arran extends from Glenashdale to mouth of Loch Ranza; and its entire surface is described in the articles on Arran and Pladda. Free churches are at Shisken and Loch Ranza. There are 7 schools for 516 scholars, and 3 of them for 230 are new."
From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.
Hide
| Kilmory, Church of Scotland |
| Kilmory, Church of Scotland |
The parish church records are held in the General Register Office for Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world.
Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Kilmory parish span the following years:
Births or Baptisms ~ 1701-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1701-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ no records
Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Lochranza span the following years:
Births or Baptisms ~ 1732-1846
Marriages or Banns ~ 1802-1846
Deaths or Burials ~ no records
Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Shiskin span the following years:
Births or Baptisms ~ 1785-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1785-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ no records
- The transcription of the section for Kilmory from the National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868).
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Kilmory to another place.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NR958356 (Lat/Lon: 55.57083, -5.239904), Kilmory which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.