We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Kingarth

"KINGARTH, parish, comprising southern part of Bute Island, Buteshire. It has a post office under Rothesay, and contains the villages of Ascog, Kilchattan Bay, Kerrycroy, and Piperhall. Its length is 6½ miles; its mean breadth about 2 ½ miles; its area 8995 acres. Real property in 1880-81, £9943. Pop. 1260. About 4315 acres are arable, about 940 are under wood, and the rest of the land is pastoral or moorish. A chief feature is the Marquis of Bute's seat of Mount Stuart. The churches are 1 Established and 2 Free. There are 3 schools for 234 scholars, and 1 of them and a class-room for 75 are new."

[From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Kingarth area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church Records

The parish church records are held in the General Register Office for Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world.

Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Kingarth parish span the following years:

Births or Baptisms ~ 1727 - 1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1837 - 1854
Deaths or Burials ~ 1768 - 1786

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Kingarth which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Kingarth has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NS093563 (Lat/Lon: 55.762401, -5.041104), Kingarth which are provided by: