Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Rothesay

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Rothesay

"ROTHESAY, town and parish in Isle of Bute. ... The parish contains also Ascog village; it formerly included what is now North Bute parish, containing Port Banntyne or Kaimesburgh; and it may be most conveniently described as still including that parish. Its length, thus understood, is nearly 10 miles; its greatest breadth, exclusive of Inchmarnock, 5 miles; its area 20,847 acres, of which 14,764 are in North Bute. Real property of landward part in 1880-81, £14,646, of which £12,196 were in North Bute. Pop. 8538, of which 1192 were in North Bute. The boundary all round, except on the south, is formed by Kyles of Bute and Firth of Clyde. The coast consists mostly of gravelly slopes and shelving rocks, and is indented by two bays on the east and two on the west. Two fine dingles cross the interior from the eastern bays to the western ones; and rising-grounds and hills, with pleasing diversity of surface fill nearly all the rest of the interior. Chief residences are handsome villas at and near Ascog; and chief antiquities are a Caledonian stone circle, numerous standing-stones, tumuli, and hill-forts, and Kaimes and Kilmorie castles. Established and Free churches are in North Bute. There are 12 schools for 1930 scholars; 2 of them for 516 new, and 2 for 263 are outside of Rothesay burgh."

[From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Rothesay area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church Records

The parish church records are held in the General Register Office for Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world.

Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Rothesay parish span the following years:

Births or Baptisms ~ 1691 - 1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1691 - 1854
Deaths or Burials ~ no records

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Rothesay which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Rothesay has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Rothesay to another place.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NS088644 (Lat/Lon: 55.834881, -5.054750), Rothesay which are provided by: