Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Dumfries

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Dumfries

"DUMFRIES, a parish on the south-west border of Dumfries-shire. It contains the royal burgh of Dumfries, the villages of Georgeton, Gaston, Locharbriggs, and Lochthorn, and part of the village of Kelton. It is bounded on the west by Kirkcudbrightshire, and on other sides by the parishes of Holywood, Kirkmahoe, Tinwald, Torthorwald, and Caerlaverock."

From the Imperial Gazetteer of Scotland, edited by John Marius Wilson,

Archives and Libraries

  • Dumfries Archive Centre, 33 Burns Street, Dumfries DG1 2PS
  • Ewart Library, Catherine Street, Dumfries DG1 1JB

Bibliography

  • The New Statistical Account of Scotland, 2nd Series, W Blackwood, 1845.

Cemeteries

Dumfries monumental inscriptions have been transcribed and indexed. The transcriptions are available locally.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Dumfries area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

Rev. Robert Wallace and Rev. Thomas T. Duncan noted the following in the New Statistical Account compiled in the 1840s:

"The landward district, and part of the town, is under the minister of St. Michael's, and the remainder of the town is under the care of the minister of the New Church... There are no free sittings in either of the churches; 1000 families attend the two established churches... There are eight dissenting places of worship in the parish... 125 families attend the Relief chapel, of whom 102 live within the parish; 70 families attend the Cameronian chapel, of whom only 12 live within the parish; 56 families attend the Episcopalian chapel, one-third of whom are without the bounds of the parish; 43 families, all within the parish, attend the Methodist chapel. It is supposed that the total number of individuals attending the dissenting places of worship may be about 700."

Church Records

Church of Scotland parish registers are held in the General Register Office in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in LDS Family History Centres around the world.

Here are some surviving church records available for Dumfries (this list may not be complete):

 

Records Available Baptism Marriage Burial SRO Reference
Church of Scotland 1605-1854 1616 - 1855 1617-1854 GRO
Antiburgher
Loreburn Street
1765-1808 none none CH3 641
United Presbyterian
Buccleuch Street
1846-1944 none none CH3 83/10
Wesleyan Methodist 1796-1924     Dumfries Archives
St. Andrew
Roman Catholic
1810-1857 1810-1857 1810-1857 Dumfries Archives
Cameronian 1706-1744 1706-1744   Dumfries Archives

The Kirk Session records for the parish start in 1635, and are kept at the National Records of Scotland. Much of the records speak of church discipline. Irregular marriages and care for the poor are mentioned as well.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Dumfries which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Dumfries has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NX971762 (Lat/Lon: 55.069592, -3.612984), Dumfries which are provided by:

Newspapers

Dumfries has had a local newspaper since 1777. The first was the Dumfries Weekly Journal, which was followed by the Dumfries Times, the Dumfries Courier, and the Dumfries Standard. These newspapers covered events in Dumfriesshire and Kirkcudbrightshire. A surname and subject index (1777 to 1925) has been compiled for these papers. The index (in book form) and the newspapers (on microfiche) are available at the Ewart Library.