Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Arrochar

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Arrochar

"village and parish in north of Dumbartonshire. ... The parish contains also the village of Tarbet, and is about 15 miles long. Acres, 25,858. Real property in 1880-81, £5291. Pop. 517. The surface extends about 3 miles along Loch Long, and nearly 14 miles along Loch Lomond; is bordered along all the west by Argyleshire, and all the north by Perthshire; displays rich, diverse Highland scenery, and is so full of mountain and moor as to comprise only about 400 acres of arable land." ...

"...The village stands on the east side, near head of Loch Long, 17¼ miles north of Helensburgh; is a terminus of steam communication on the Upper Clyde, and a resort of tourists and summer visitors; is engirt by very grand, striking scenery; and has a post office, with money order department, under Dumbarton, an excellent hotel, an Established church of 1847, a Free church, and a public school with about 60 scholars."

[From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Arrochar area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church Records

Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Arrochar parish span the following years:

Births or Baptisms ~ 1759-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1768-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ 1783-1784

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Arrochar which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Arrochar has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Arrochar to another place.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NN298044 (Lat/Lon: 56.201730, -4.745230), Arrochar which are provided by: