ARROCHAR, Parish
"village and parish in north of Dumbartonshire. ... The parish contains also the village of Tarbet, and is about 15 miles long. Acres, 25,858. Real property in 1880-81, £5291. Pop. 517. The surface extends about 3 miles along Loch Long, and nearly 14 miles along Loch Lomond; is bordered along all the west by Argyleshire, and all the north by Perthshire; displays rich, diverse Highland scenery, and is so full of mountain and moor as to comprise only about 400 acres of arable land."
[From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.]
Church Records
The parish church records are held in the General Register Office for Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries.
Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Arrochar parish span the following years:
Births or Baptisms ~ 1759-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1768-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ 1783-1784
- Churches in Arrochar (NN298044):
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Arrochar area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths began in Scotland on 1st January 1855. For details of these and other records held at the General Register Office in Edinburgh, see the GRO tutorial.
Description and Travel
Gazetteers
- Ask the GENUKI Gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Arrochar to another place.
Historical Geography
Maps
- View maps of Arrochar.