Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Bonhill

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Bonhill

"BONHILL, town and parish in Dumbartonshire. The parish contains also the towns of Alexandria and Jamestown, and the villages of Balloch, Dalvault, and Mill of Halden, and it comprises the upper half of the Vale of Leven, and extends about 3 miles across the foot of Loch Lomond. Acres, 8373... Pop., quoad civilia, 12,524; quoad sacra, 2983. The surface abounds in both natural beauty and artificial embellishment. 9 large print works are within its vale; and Tillichewan Castle, Bonhill Place, Levenfield, Bromley, Balloch Castle, Cameron House, Belretiro, Arden, and other mansions are chief residences. Churches are in Alexandria and Jamestown. There are 2 public schools for 1481 scholars, and 1 of them and an enlargement for 967 are new." ...

"... The town is practically conjoint with Alexandria, divided from it only by the river Leven; dates from ancient times, but is a seat and centre of modern industries; and has a post office, with money order department, under Dumbarton, a banking office, Established, Free, and United Presbyterian churches, a public school with about 379 scholars, and waterworks projected in 1880. Pop. 2940."

From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Bonhill area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church Records

Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Bonhill parish span the following years:

Births or Baptisms ~ 1676-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1676-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ no records

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Bonhill which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Bonhill has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NS402792 (Lat/Lon: 55.979148, -4.562704), Bonhill which are provided by: