GENUKI Home page
Dunbartonshire Dunbartonshire    Contents Contents

Cardross, Parish

"CARDROSS, village and parish on north side of the Clyde in Dumbartonshire. The parish contains also Renton town and part of Dumbarton, and is 7 3/4 miles long and 2 1/4 miles broad. Acres, 8264. Pop., quoad civilia, 9365; quoad sacra, 1342. The surface includes the fine wooded promontory of Ardmore, rises gradually from the Clyde and the Leven, and is bordered by a hill - ridge with extreme altitude of 943 feet. The seats are Ardmore, Keppoch, Bloomhill, and Camus-Eskan; and a spot of great antiquarian interest is the site of the castle in which King Robert Bruce died. There are public schools for 694 scholars, and enlargements of them for 460 are new."
[From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.]

Towns and Villages

Cardross (village)
Dumbarton (part)(town)
Renton (town)


Church Records

The parish church records are held in the General Register Office for Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world.

Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Cardross parish span the following years:

Births or Baptisms ~ 1681-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1687-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ no records

Civil Registration

Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths began in Scotland on 1st January 1855. For details of these and other records held at the General Register Office in Edinburgh, see the GRO tutorial.


Page produced by Louise Smith.
Last updated: 19th May 2003 - Brian Pears