Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Cumbernauld

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Cumbernauld

"CUMBERNAULD, town and parish in detached district of Dumbartonshire. The parish contains also the village of Condorrat and the hamlet of Croy. Its length is about 8 miles; its greatest breadth about 4 miles; its area 11,635 acres...Pop., quoad civilia, 4270; quoad sacra, inclusive of 81 in Falkirk parish, 4351. The surface is mostly a fine diversity of small hills and fertile dales, but includes Fannyside Moor. Coal, lime, ironstone, and sandstone are extensively worked. Cumbernauld House is a chief feature, but was almost destroyed by fire in 1877. The antiquities are traces of Antoninus' Wall and vestiges of a Roman road. An Established church is at Condorrat. There are 3 schools for 767 scholars, and 2 of them for 520 are new. Cumbernauld station is on the Caledonian railway, and has also a post office under Glasgow."

[From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Cumbernauld area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church Records

Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Cumbernauld parish span the following years:

Births or Baptisms ~ 1688-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1689-1769 and 1783-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ 1798-1800

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Cumbernauld which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Cumbernauld has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Cumbernauld to another place.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NS765745 (Lat/Lon: 55.947662, -3.979211), Cumbernauld which are provided by: