Kilmaronock
"KILMARONOCK, parish lying across foot of Loch Lomond, Dumbartonshire. It contains Drymen and Caldarvan railway stations and extends from Endrick river to vicinity of Balloch, and its post town is Alexandria. Its length is 7¼ miles; its greatest breadth full 5 miles; its area 10,325 acres... Pop. 927. The eastern section is hilly and partly moorish but the western section is low, arable and embellished. The seats are Buttrich Castle, Ross Priory, Caldarvan and Catter; and a spot of antiquarian interst is the site of a Culdee cell, founded by Maronnanor Maronoch, afterwards a nunnery, noticed by Sir Walter Scott's Lady of the Lake as 'Maronnan's cell.' The churches are Established and United Presbyterian. There are 2 schools for 172 scholars, and 1 of them for 80 is new."
From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.
"KILMARONOCK is a small parish adjoining that of Bonhill, and is situated a little to the north-east of that village. It contains nothing worthy of note but the parish church and Board school. An United Presbyterian church and school are likewise in the parish. Popularion in 1871, 978."
From Slater's Directory, 1878.
Church Records
The parish church records are held in the General Register Office for Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world.
Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Kilmaronock parish span the following years:
Births or Baptisms ~ 1686-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1703-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ no records
- Churches in Kilmaronock (NS451875):
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Kilmaronock area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths began in Scotland on 1st January 1855. For details of these and other records held at the General Register Office in Edinburgh, see the GRO tutorial.
Description and Travel
Gazetteers
- Ask the GENUKI Gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Kilmaronock to another place.
Historical Geography
Maps
- View maps of Kilmaronock.