Downtime: The Genuki web service will be unavailable on Tues 24 Apr from 10:00 BST for approximately two hours whilst some software updates are installed.

Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Kirkintilloch

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

Kirkintilloch

"KIRKINTILLOCH, town and parish in detached section of Dumbartonshire.... The parish contains also Waterside village and part of Lenzie town, measures 6¾ by nearly 3½ miles, and comprises 7146 acres. ... Pop., quoad civilia 10,591; quoad sacra, 5356. The surface is nearly all a very gentle slope with northern exposure. Coal abounds and is extensively mined. Ironstone, limestone, and sandstone also are plentiful. The residences include several handsome mansions and many fine villas; and the antiquities include traces of Antoninus' Wall, the site of a castle of the Comyns, and Banheath Tower, once a stronghold of the Earls of Kilmarnock. Established, United Presbyterian, and Episcopalian churches are at Lenzie. Seven schools for 1610 scholars are in the parish, and 2 of them for 750 are new." ...

".... The town stands on Forth and Clyde Canal, adjacent to Kelvin river, 8¼ miles north-east of Glasgow; sprang from a strong fort on Antoninus' Wall, and retains a moundish remnant of it; possessed importance in the time of William the Lion; presents now the dingy appearance of a place of mere manufacture and traffic; was designed, about the end of 1879, to undergo some cleansing improvement; and has a post office, with all departments, under Glasgow, a railway station, 2 banking offices, a court-house, 2 Established churches, 2 Free churches, United Presbyterian, Original Secession and Methodist churches, and 2 public schools with about 428 scholars. Pop. 7352."

"KIRKINTILLOCH (ST. DAVID), quoad sacra parish with Established and Free churches in Kirkintilloch, Dumbartonshire. Pop. 3786."

From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.

topup

Church Records

Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Kirkintilloch parish span the following years:

Births or Baptisms ~ 1656-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1656-1710 and 1820-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ 1826-1854

topup

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Kirkintilloch which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

    Ask for a calculation of the distance from Kirkintilloch to another place.

    Click here for a list of nearby places.

    topup
    topup