Kirkintilloch
"KIRKINTILLOCH, town and parish in detached section of Dumbartonshire.... The parish contains also Waterside village and part of Lenzie town, measures 6¾ by nearly 3½ miles, and comprises 7146 acres. ... Pop., quoad civilia 10,591; quoad sacra, 5356. The surface is nearly all a very gentle slope with northern exposure. Coal abounds and is extensively mined. Ironstone, limestone, and sandstone also are plentiful. The residences include several handsome mansions and many fine villas; and the antiquities include traces of Antoninus' Wall, the site of a castle of the Comyns, and Banheath Tower, once a stronghold of the Earls of Kilmarnock. Established, United Presbyterian, and Episcopalian churches are at Lenzie. Seven schools for 1610 scholars are in the parish, and 2 of them for 750 are new."
KIRKINTILLOCH (ST. DAVID), quoad sacra parish with Established and Free churches in Kirkintilloch, Dumbartonshire. Pop. 3786."
From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.
Church Records
The parish church records are held in the General Register Office for Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world.
Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Kirkintilloch parish span the following years:
Births or Baptisms ~ 1656-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1656-1710 and 1820-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ 1826-1854
- Churches in Kirkintilloch (NS655735):
- Church of Scotland
- St Flannan, Hillhead Road, Roman Catholic
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Kirkintilloch area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths began in Scotland on 1st January 1855. For details of these and other records held at the General Register Office in Edinburgh, see the GRO tutorial.
Description and Travel
Gazetteers
- Ask the GENUKI Gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Kirkintilloch to another place.