Report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for New Kilpatrick

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

New Kilpatrick

"KILPATRICK (NEW), village in Dumbartonshire, and parish partly also in Stirlingshire. ... The parish contains also Milngavie town, and Garscadden, Carscube, Knightswood, Netherton, Craigton, Bluerow, and Dalsholm villages. Its length is 7½ miles; its greatest breadth 3½ miles; its area 9303 acres in Dumbartonshire, and 2747 in Stirlingshire. ... Pop., quoad civilia, 7414; quoad sacra, 4485. The northern section, to the extend of about 4 square miles, is filled with part of Kilpatrick Hills; and the rest of the land descends in successive knolly undulations to the Kelvin and the vicinity of Yoker on the Clyde. Coal, limestone, and very fine sandstone are worked. Chief seats are Garscube, Killermont, Garscadden, Clober, Balvie, and Kilmardinny; and chief antiquities are vestiges of Antoninus' Wall, and sites of two ancient chapels. Established, United Presbyterian, and Roman Catholic churches are at Milngavie. 8 schools for 1069 scholars are in the parish, and 1 of them for 400 is new." ...

"... The village stands 5½ miles north-west of Glasgow, and has a post office under Glasgow, Established and United Presbyterian churches, and a public school with about 97 scholars."

[From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.]


You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the New Kilpatrick area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church Records

Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for New Kilpatrick parish span the following years:

Births or Baptisms ~ 1691-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1693-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ 1758-1769

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of New Kilpatrick which are provided by:


Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which New Kilpatrick has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.


You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NS550717 (Lat/Lon: 55.916517, -4.321699), New Kilpatrick which are provided by: