|
|
Dunbartonshire |
|
Contents |
"KILPATRICK (NEW), village in Dumbartonshire, and parish partly also in Stirlingshire. ... The parish contains also Milngavie town, and Garscadden, Carscube, Knightswood, Netherton, Craigton, Bluerow, and Dalsholm villages. Its length is 7 1/2 miles; its greatest breadth 3 1/2 miles; its area 9303 acres in Dumbartonshire, and 2747 in Stirlingshire. ... Pop., quoad civilia, 7414; quoad sacra, 4485. The northern section, to the extend of about 4 square miles, is filled with part of Kilpatrick Hills; and the rest of the land descends in successive knolly undulations to the Kilvin and the vicinity of Yoker on the Clyde. Coal, limestone, and very fine sandstone are worked. chief seats are Garscube, Killermont, Garscadden, Clober, Balvie, and Kilmardinny; and chief antiquities are vestiges of Antoninus' Wall, and sites of two ancient chapels. Established, United Presbyterian, and Roman Catholic churches are at Milngavie. 8 schools for 1069 scholars are in the parish, and 1 of them for 400 is new."
From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.
|
Bluerow (hamlet) Craigton (village) Dalsholm (village) Garscadden (village) Garscube (village) Knightswood (village) Milngavie (town) Netherton (village) New Kilpatrick (village) |
The parish church records are held in the General Register Office for Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world.
Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for New Kilpatrick parish span the following years:
Births or Baptisms ~ 1691-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1693-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ 1758-1769
Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths began in Scotland on 1st January 1855. For details of these and other records held at the General Register Office in Edinburgh, see the GRO tutorial.