We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Old Kilpatrick

"KILPATRICK (OLD), village and parish in Dumbartonshire. ... The parish contains also the towns of Duntocher and Clydebank, the villages of Bowling, Dalmuir, Faifley, Hardgate, Milton, Littlemill, Dumbuck, and part of Yoker. Its length is nearly 8 miles; its greatest breadth neatly 6 miles; its area 12,554 acres. ... Pop., quoad civilia, 8862; quoad sacra, 6020. The surface is bounded along all the south by the Clyde, and appears pretty fully in view from a vessel sailing down or up the river. The Kilpatrick Hills occupy all the north and part of the centre; present to the south picturesque features of seclivity, escarpment, ravine, and wood; strike gradually toward the Clyde from a distance of about 4 miles in the east to a distance of less that 1 mile in the west; have near altitudes of from 800 to 1313 feet above sea-level; exhibit, adjacent to Bowling Bay, the deep broad ravine of Glenarbuck; and terminate abruptly in Dumbuck Hill, about a mile east of Dumbarton Castle. The ground between the hills and the Clyde is mostly either sloping or flat. Chief seats are Auchentorlie, Auchintoshan, Mountblow, Dalmuir, and Dumbuck; and chief antiquities are site or vestige of terminal forts of Antoninus' Wall, a Roman bridge and site of Roman sudorium at Duntocher, vestiges of several Caledonian hill-forts, and ivy-clad remains of Dunglass Castle. Established, Free, United Presbyterian churches are at Clydebank. 8 schools for 1495 scholars are in the parish, and 3 of them and enlargements for 816 are new." ...

"... The village stands adjacent to the Clyde, 9 miles by road but 11 by railway, west-north-west of Glasgow, was the birthplace of St. Patrick, and has a post office, with money order and telegraph departments, under Glasgow, a railway station, Established and United Presbyterian churches, and a public school with about 74 scholars. Pop. 911."

[From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.]

Cemeteries

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Old Kilpatrick area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church Records

Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Old Kilpatrick parish span the following years:

Births or Baptisms ~ 1688-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1689-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ no records

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Old Kilpatrick which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Old Kilpatrick has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NS463731 (Lat/Lon: 55.926383, -4.461563), Old Kilpatrick which are provided by:
We are looking for somebody who can help with the maintenance of this page, which currently has a status of Pending - The section is active and has a maintainer assigned but a replacement maintainer is being sought. For more information about what helping us entails, look at our help wanted page. If you would like to consider helping us then please contact David McFarlane.