-->

Rhu, (Row), Parish

"ROW, village and parish on west border of Dumbartonshire. ... The parish contains also Helensburgh town and most of Garelochhead village, measures 9 miles by 5, and comprises 20,126 acres. ... Pop., quoad civilia, 10,097; quoad sacra, 1725. A belt of low shore and contiguous slope extends along all Gareloch from Helensburgh to Garelochhead, is thickly studded with mansions and villas, and has rich embellishment of wood and culture; a hill-range, with altitudes of from 667 to 1183 feet above sea-level, extends immediately behind, and abuts on Loch Long; another range, with altitudes of from 1630 to 2092 feet, extends parallel to that, has its watershed along the northern boundary, and also abuts on Loch Long; and Geln-fruin, contracting gradually from strath to narrowness, lies between the two ranges. Chief seats are Ardincaple, Shandon Lodge, and West Shandon; and chief antiquities are vestiges of Shandon and Faslane castles. Eight churches are in Helensburgh, 2 are in Garelochhead, and 1 is at Shandon. Fourteen schools for 2132 scholars are in the parish, and 2 of them for 230 are new."

[From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.]


Church Records

The parish church records are held in the General Register Office for Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world.

Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Rhu parish span the following years:

Births or Baptisms ~ 1760-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1760-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ no records

Civil Registration

Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths began in Scotland on 1st January 1855. For details of these and other records held at the General Register Office in Edinburgh, see the GRO tutorial.

Church Records

Description and Travel

Gazetteers

Historical Geography

Maps


Return to top of page u_arrow


Are you lost in the Genuki hierarchy or arrived here from a Search Engine?
If so, use the up-arrow(s) at the top of the page to move up the hierarchy.

URL of this page : http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/sct/DNB/Rhu/index.shtml