| Kingdom of Fife | Contents | Fife Towns & Parishes |
|
| Saline |
Places in Saline parish, with links to online historical and modern maps.
|
|
| Please read the main Fife pages if you have not already done so. | |
A separate Records Page page gives details of the records for this parish held by Scottish archives.
The ScotlandsPlaces website lets users search across national databases by geographical location. It includes, amongst other material,
There is a chapter about Saline in Mercer's History of Dunfermline, published 1828, is at Google Books.
A very good description is to be found in the relevant chapter in History of the County of Fife: From the Earliest Period to the Present Time by John M Leighton, published 1840, online at Google Books.
There are 2 cemeteries in Saline parish:
1. Saline Old Churchyard, Bridge Street, Saline (grid ref. NT 024926; GPS: 56.116139 -3.571232):
2. Saline Cemetery, Drumhead, North Road, Saline (grid ref. NT 016928; GPS: 56.117771 -3.584167):
Parish / district reference number for 1841 - 1901 censuses: 455
The 1841 return can be searched on the FreeCEN website.
The 1851 census has been indexed by the Tay Valley Family History Society.
Some census records on microfilm may be consulted in LDS Family Search Centres around the world.
LDS Library Film Numbers:
1841 1851 1861 1871 1881 1891 Saline 1042704 1042271 103832 103995 203531 208767
Data provided by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints
Further information on the main Fife page.
In addition to the parish church (which became Saline South), there was a Free Church in Saline (later Saline North).
The Old Statistical Account (written in the 1790s) gives the number of "sectaries" [those dissenting from the Established Church] as not exceeding 20 or 30.
The New Statistical Account (written in 1842) gives this information:
The 1865 Ecclesiastical Directory lists the parish church and the Free Church.
Information and pictures of the churches at the Scottish Churches website.
Details of church history here.The original Old Parish Registers (of baptisms / births, proclamations / marriages, and deaths / burials) of the Church of Scotland, which cover the years up to 1854, are held in the General Register Office for Scotland in Edinburgh, and they can all be consulted there at the ScotlandsPeople Centre. The baptisms / births, proclamations / marriages and deaths / burials indexes can be searched at the ScotlandsPeople website. Copies of the register entries may be purchased.
Parish reference number: 455
The Old Parish Registers (OPRs) span the following dates (although there are gaps within these ranges):
Saline OPR Births / baptisms Proclamations / marriages Deaths / burials / mortcloths 455/1 1746-1819 1747-1819 1747-1810 455/2 1820-1854 1820-1854
Data supplied by General Register Office for Scotland
The Detailed List of the Old Parochial Registers of Scotland, published 1872, provides this information about the content of the OPRs, including the gaps within them:
B. No blanks, but irregular entries occasionally occur.
M. Blank (exc. one entry) May 1783 - March 1794. No entries Dec. 1798 - Feb. 1800. The Record 1794 - 1817 is, with a few exceptions, one of Proclamations merely.
D. (Mortcloth Dues.)Copies of the registers on microfilm may be consulted in some local libraries and at LDS Family Search Centres around the world. The indexes to baptisms / births and proclamations / marriages can also be searched on the LDS Family Search website or on the IGI on microfiche in local libraries.
LDS Library Film Numbers:
1040181 Item 5 Baptisms, 1746-1782. 1040339 Items 1 - 2 Baptisms, 1782-1854; Marriages, 1747-1784, 1794-1854; Mortcloth dues (burial records), 1747-1810.
Data provided by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints Deaths / burials are listed on Fife Family History Society's Pre-1855 Fife Deaths CD.
Further information on the main Fife page.
Kirk Session records are at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh. Details of records here.
Heritors' Records (HR411) are at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh. Details of records here.
Records for other churches are mostly held at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh.
The LDS have filmed some records which may be consulted at LDS Family History Centres.
Details of church records here.
The Saline page of the LDS Family Search Research Wiki has more information about church history and records.
Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths began in Scotland on 1st January 1855. Full information on the main Fife page.
Registration districts covering this parish:
| Registration district | number | start date | end date |
| Saline | 455 | 1855 | 1971 |
| Saline | 431 | 1972 | 1975 |
| Dunfermline | 432 | 1976 | 2002 |
| Fife | 432 | 2003 |
Registration districts did not necessarily coincide exactly with parishes. In the 20th century especially, there were frequent changes in registration districts.
Fife Family History Society have published a list of Saline Jurors 1851 on the Records pages of their website.
| Saline town centre | Ordnance Survey Grid Reference | GPS | Post code | Lat. 56°6'54"N |
| NT 023925 | 56.115220 -3.572803 |
KY12 9UQ | Lon. 3°34'26"W |
Surrounding parishes: Culross, Dunfermline, Carnock, in Clackmannanshire: Clackmannan, in Kinross-shire: Fossoway, Cleish.
Westwood's ParochialDirectory for the Counties of Fife and Kinross for 1862 and 1866 are online at Google Books. On the Records pages of the Fife Family History Society website there is a transcription of the 1862 edition.
There is a list of places in Saline parish, with links to online historical and modern maps.
Several old gazetteers are available. They all contain descriptions of the parish and many are also worth searching for entries of places within the parish.
On 15th May 1891, a detached part of Torryburn parish was
transferred to the parish of
Saline. It comprised Bonnington, Cultmill, Cults, Wester Cults, North
Cults, South Cults,
Hallcroft and Hallburns, Hillend, Hillside, Meadowland, Pow and
Wellwood.
On the same date, a detached portion of Saline parish was transferred
to Torryburn
parish. It comprised Inzievar, Inzievar Stables, Blair (part),
Braidless, Duckill, Langlees, Mavisbank, Rimalton, Sunnyside, Oakley
railway station and land near it,
Fernwoodlee, Over Inzievar, Blairhall, Brown Muir and Rennieswells.
A Vision of Britain provides historical descriptions, population & housing statistics, historic boundaries and maps.
Details of historic buildings and archaeological sites in this parish held by the Royal Commission on the Ancient and Historical Monuments of Scotland, Edinburgh, are catalogued at ScotlandsPlaces. In the results, click RCAHMS. Unfortunately, not all entries have digital images.
This British Library webpage uses small examples of historical maps of London to show the differences between maps at various scales.
War memorials can be seen at the Scottish War Memorials Project.
There is an index to the Ordnance Survey Object Name Books for this parish here.
Fife Deaths Abroad 1855-1900 - a compilation of overseas deaths recorded in Fife newspapers - has been produced by Andrew Campbell of Fife Family History Society. The Society have recently re-published it in their Publications Series, 30.
The parish is included in Andrew Campbell's compilation of Fife Shopkeepers and Traders 1820-1870 taken from newspapers and directories. It is available in most Fife reference libraries, in the libraries of the family history societies, and at the Manuscript Department of the Special Collections Department of St Andrews University Library. It is also available as Fife Traders and Shopkeepers on CD from Fife Family History Society.
The relief of paupers after 1845 was carried out by the Parochial Board and later by the Parish Council. Their records are at the Fife Council Archive Centre. Details of records here.
Peter Higginbotham's website has a lot of information about Dunfermline combination poorhouse.
| Year | Population | |
| 1755 | 1285 | |
| 1801 | 945 | |
| 1851 | 1792 | |
| 1901 | 1012 | * boundary changed |
| 1951 | 1413 |
There is a page with census statistics from 1755 to 1961 here.
See also A Vision of Britain and Histpop for population statistics.
Prior to 1824, wills, testaments & inventories of residents of Saline may be found in either the Stirling Commissariot (CC21) or the Edinburgh Commissariot (CC8) records. From 1824 to 1960, commissary business was conducted by the Sheriff Court of Fife at Cupar (SC20). From 1960, it has been conducted at Dunfermline (SC21) Sheriff Court.
Indexes and finding aids are given on the main Fife page.
Local sources worth searching for deeds include Stirling Commissary Court and Cupar Sheriff Court.
Fife Family History Society have published a list of Saline Paupers 1845-1852 on the Records pages of their website.
School Board records and / or school logbooks are held at the Fife Council Archive Centre. Details of records here.
Education statistics for Fife schools in 1891-2 list the following board schools in the parish:
| School Board | School | Accommodation for scholars | Average attendance |
| Saline | Saline | 200 | 98 |
"Statistical accounts" giving fascinating insights into the local topography and history, social and economic conditions, and even the daily lives of people, were written by the parish ministers in the 1790s and the 1840s. For more information see the main Fife pages
The hearth tax, clock & watch tax, male servants tax, female servants tax, and farm horse tax are all on ScotlandsPlaces.
Are you lost in the GENUKI hierarchy or arrived here from a search engine? If so, use the up-arrow(s) at the top of the page to go up the hierarchy.
Page maintained by William McM. Owen : last updated 25 October, 2012