GENUKI Home page

Kingdom of Fife Kingdom of Fife Contents Contents Fife towns and parishes Fife Towns & Parishes Neighboursnearby places

Abernethy

Map showing the location of the parish

"ABERNETHY, a burgh and parish, partly in the county of Fife, but chiefly in the county of Perth, 3 miles from Newburgh, containing the village of Aberdargie and the town of Abernethy" edited from Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of Scotland, 1846.

Since 1891, Abernethy parish has been completely in Perthshire. Other parish information will be found on the GENUKI Perthshire pages.

Towns and Villages

Abernethy

Places in Abernethy parish, with links to online historical and modern maps.


Please read the main Fife pages if you have not already done so.

Archives, Libraries and Museums

A separate Records Page page gives details of the records for this parish held by Scottish archives.

The ScotlandsPlaces website lets users search across national databases by geographical location. It includes, amongst other material,

Bibliography

A very good description is to be found in the relevant chapter in History of the County of Fife: From the Earliest Period to the Present Time by John M Leighton, published 1840, online at Google Books.

Cemeteries

War graves can be seen at the Scottish Wargraves Project and war memorials can be seen at the Scottish War Memorials Project.

Census

Parish / district reference number for 1841 - 1911 censuses: 326

Of the original 1841 returns, only those covering the Perthshire part of the parish survive. Those for the Fife part of the parish are missing.

The 1841 return can be searched on the FreeCEN website.

Some census records on microfilm may be consulted in LDS Family Search Centres around the world.

LDS Library Film Numbers:

  1841 1851 1861 1871 1881 1891
Abernethy 1042682 1042259 103891 104071 203500 208729
Data provided by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints

Further information on the main Fife page.

Church History

In addition to the parish church, there was a Free Church and an Antiburgher congregation.

The Old Statistical Account (written in the 1790s) gives this information about Dissenters:

The New Statistical Account (written in 1842) has this to say:

Information and pictures of the churches at the Scottish Churches website.

Details of church history here.

Church Records

The Parish Church (Established Church, Church of Scotland):

The original Old Parish Registers (of baptisms / births, proclamations / marriages, and deaths / burials) of the Church of Scotland, which cover the years up to 1854, are held in the General Register Office for Scotland in Edinburgh, and they can all be consulted there at the ScotlandsPeople Centre. The baptisms / births, proclamations / marriages and deaths / burials indexes can be searched at the ScotlandsPeople website. Copies of the register entries may be purchased.

Parish reference number: 326

The Old Parish Registers (OPRs) span the following dates (although there are gaps within these ranges):

Abernethy OPR Births / baptisms Proclamations / marriages Deaths / burials / mortcloths
326/1 1690-1733 1690-1727 1690-1727
326/2 1749-1819 1783-1794 1783-1794
326/3 1820-1854    
326/4 ?   1845-1854 ?  
Data supplied by General Register Office for Scotland

The Detailed List of the Old Parochial Registers of Scotland, published 1872, provides this information about the content of the OPRs, including the gaps within them:

B. M. and D. prior to1702 generally recorded in parallel columns of the Register. After 1702 Births recorded separately. Blank (exc. two entries) Jan. 1734 - Jan. 1749. Mothers' names not recorded.
M. and D. Proclamations and Mortcloth Dues till 1727. Blank 1727 - 1783, after which date Marriages and Burials are recorded. M. terminate March 1794, exc. one entry for 1823; and D. terminate Sept. 1794.
[Subsequent to publication of the Detailed List, records were found within other Church of Scotland records (CH2/743/5) which contain Marriages 1845 - 1917. These may now be included in the OPR Records as 326/4.]

Copies of the registers on microfilm may be consulted in some local libraries and at LDS Family Search Centres around the world. The indexes to baptisms / births and proclamations / marriages can also be searched on the LDS Family Search website or on the IGI on microfiche in local libraries.

LDS Library Film Numbers:

993511 Baptisms, 1690-1733, marriages, 1690-1727, burials, 1690-1727; baptisms, 1749-1819, marriages, 1783-1794, burials, 1783-1794; baptisms, 1820-1854.
Data provided by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints

Further information on the main Fife page.

Kirk Session records are held at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh. Some Kirk Session material is to be found in the OPR records (326/1). Details of church records here.

Heritors' Records (HR552) are at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh. Details of records here.

Other Churches :

Records of other churches are held by the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh.

Details of church records here.

The Abernethy page of the LDS Family Search Research Wiki has more information about church history and records.

Civil Registration

Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths began in Scotland on 1st January 1855. Full information on the main Fife page.

Registration districts covering this parish:

Registration district number start date end date
Abernethy 326 1855 1968
Perth 387 1969 1971
Perth 390 1972 2003
Perth & Kinross 390 2004  

Registration districts did not necessarily coincide exactly with parishes. In the 20th century especially, there were frequent changes in registration districts.

Description & Travel

Abernethy town centre Ordnance Survey Grid Reference GPS Post code Lat. 5619'56"N
NO 189163 56.332103
-3.313220
PH2 9JH Lon. 318'48"W

Surrounding parishes: in Fife: Arngask, Strathmiglo, Auchtermuchty, Newburgh, in Perthshire: Dron, Dunbarney, Rhynd.

Directories

Westwood's Parochial Directory for the Counties of Fife and Kinross for 1862 and 1866 are online at Google Books. On the Records pages of the Fife Family History Society website there is a transcription of the 1862 edition. All listings cover only the part of the parish which is in Fife.

Gazetteers

There is a list of places in Abernethy parish, with links to online historical and modern maps.

Several old gazetteers are available. They all contain descriptions of the parish and many are also worth searching for entries of places within the parish.

Historical Geography

Until 15th May 1891, the parish of Abernethy was situated partly in the county of Fife and partly in the county of Perth. On that date, various changes to the parish and county boundaries were made. From that date the whole parish of Abernethy was included in the county of Perth.

The following subjects remained in the parish of Abernethy but were transferred from the county of Fife to the county of Perth: Balvaird Farm, Mucklebein Farm, Catochil, Dumbarrow Farm, Dumbarrow House, Glentarkie Farm, Pittuncarty Farm, and part of the lands of Colzie Hill.

The following subjects remained in the county of Fife but were transferred from the parish of Abernethy to the parish of Newburgh: Easter Colzie Farm, part of the land of Colzie Hill, and Lumquhat.

The following subjects remained in the county of Fife but were transferred from the parish of Abernethy to the parish of Strathmiglo: Nochnarrie, Pitlour, and part of the Farm of Wester Pitlour.

Land & Property

Details of historic buildings and archaeological sites in this parish held by the Royal Commission on the Ancient and Historical Monuments of Scotland, Edinburgh, are catalogued at ScotlandsPlaces. In the results, click RCAHMS. Unfortunately, not all entries have digital images.

Maps

Historic maps:

This British Library webpage uses small examples of historical maps of London to show the differences between maps at various scales.

Present-day maps:

Military History

War graves can be seen at the Scottish Wargraves Project and war memorials can be seen at the Scottish War Memorials Project.

The parishes of Abernethy, Arngask, Culross and Tulliallan parishes will be included in the Perthshire Milita collection, 1680-1891, located at the Perth and Kinross Council Archive, Perth.

Names, Geographical

The Ordnance Survey Object Name Books 1850-1854 are held at the Fife Council Archive Centre. There is an index to the entries for the partof this parish which was in Fife on the Fife Council website (do a 'Publications Search' for Abernethy, and tick the box 'Search Archived Docs').

Poorhouses, Poor Law, etc.

The relief of paupers after 1845 was carried out by the Parochial Board and later by the Parish Council. Their records are at the Perth and Kinross Council Archive. Details of records here.

Population

Year Fife Population Perthshire Population Total Population
1755     1490
1801 133 1355 1488
1851 164 1862 2026
1901   * boundary changed  1276
1951    1375

There is a page with census statistics from 1755 to 1961 here.

See also A Vision of Britain and Histpop for population statistics.

Statistics

"Statistical accounts" giving fascinating insights into the local topography and history, social and economic conditions, and even the daily lives of people, were written by the parish ministers in the 1790s and the 1840s. For more information see the main Fife pages

Taxation

The hearth tax, male servants tax, female servants tax, and farm horse tax are all on ScotlandsPlaces.

Return to top of page

Are you lost in the GENUKI hierarchy or arrived here from a search engine? If so, use the up-arrow(s) at the top of the page to go up the hierarchy.


Problems?Find help, report problems, or contribute information

Page maintained by William McM. Owen : last updated 19 September, 2013


GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the charitable trust GENUKI. © GENUKI and contributors 1997-2014.
Hosted by Mythic Beasts Ltd.