We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Small Isles

"SMALL ISLES, a parish in the Hebrides, in the district of Mull, county Argyle, Scotland, except Eigg, which is annexed to the shire of Inverness. It comprises the islands of Rum, Canna, Muck, and Eigg, besides several smaller islands. It was a part of the parish of Sleat till 1726, when it was erected into a separate parochial charge. The parish is in the presbytery of Skye and synod of Glenelg, and in the patronage of the crown. The stipend of the minister is about £158. There is no parish church, but a schoolhouse at Eigg in which divine service is celebrated. There are also a Free Church preaching station, a Roman Catholic place of worship at Eigg, and a Society school at Muck. A notice of each of these islands is given separately."

Description(s) from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868)


Presbyterian / Unitarian
Small Isles, Church of Scotland

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Small Isles area or see them printed on a map.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Small Isles which are provided by:


Ask for a calculation of the distance from Small Isles to another place.

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Small Isles has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.